Day 2

Sitting cross-legged on my bed, slowly coming my hair, radio offering up one of my great pleasures: someone reading me a story.  I love being read to.  Have always and don’t see this changing.  This afternoon “Selected Shorts” is on, and Frances Sternhagen is reading Eudora Welty’s “A Curtain of Green” … to the lucky audience at Symphony Space, of course, but the audience is utterly silent (something even Sternhagen marvels at in the mini-interview with her after the reading), and in my quiet house it seems as if she’s reading only to me.  Her voice is perfect in this story, and she has added a slight accent to fit her character.  I have read this story many times.  I love Eudora Welty’s wonderful writing.  I have read the story to myself and loved it …  But it isn’t the same as this, as having it read, having Sternhagen’s voice fill my room and give the story life as I sit, eyes closed, taking a comb slowly through my hair.

5 thoughts on “Day 2

  1. It’s all you… We are mothers (and fathers), therapists, doctors, friends, older siblings and so much more to your students. Thanks goodness for people like you who are there for the big kids in this world. 🙂

    –Stacey

    Like

  2. juliebrock

    Ditto to Stacey. The fact that she talks with you, feels comfortable with you, and opens up to you….well that is amazing and scary all in the same breath. Thank you so much for being where you are.

    Like

Your turn ...

