It’s National Poetry Month, Y’all!

So I had this idea that I’d post a poem a day for the month, but then I got on a Queen kick on Tuesday (well, the lyrics rhyme, so maybe that counts, after all!) and Wednesday I wanted to write about Zoraida, and here it is, the wee small hours of Thursday morning, and I haven’t shared a single poem.

Ok, here’s one I love sharing.  When my sister was in first or second grade, she brought home a book of poetry for kids.  And mostly it was full of some predictably fluffy stuff … but then there was this poem that we were all shocked by and which I fell in love with. I have since learned that it’s and A.E. Housman poem in honor (honor? really?) of the Salvation Army.

I memorized it and, if we you were in the room with me right now, I’d stand and clasp my hands in front of my diaphragm von Trapp-style and recite it for you all proper-like.  You’ll just have to imagine the presentation.  And, too, you might have to imagine that I’ve mis-remembered it here or there — it’s at least 30 years (eek!) since I learned it.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you, “Hallelujah!”

 
Hallelujah was the only exclamation
that escaped Lieutenant-Colonel Mary-Jane
when she tumbled off the platform in the station
and was cut in little pieces by the train.
Mary-Jane the train is through ya,
Hallelujah!  Hallelujah!
We shall gather up the fragments that remain.

(Of course, if you want a different type of poetry fix, the Academy of American Poets is posting and emailing poems every day …)

2 thoughts on “It’s National Poetry Month, Y’all!

  1. Hi, Stacey–
    I always put together a bunch of poems to give as gifts to my students early in the month and then keep reminding them about Poem in Your Pocket Day (when I always have many more than one poem in my pocket!). I’m a little unhappy with the way term break has worked out this year. My new class won’t start until th 15th and they’ll just be getting settled in by the 17th. 😦 We’ll see how that works out.

    What will you be doing with your students?

    Like

Your turn ...

