For whenever two or more of you are gathered in his name …

So today, there was a wedding out my windows and over my head.  Really.  I live in a house, and my landlords are my upstairs neighbors … and today they got married.  And I am an absolute sucker for weddings.  I get all misty and sappy and dreamy about weddings.  I get a little sad, too, as it seems less and less likely that I’ll ever have one of my own, but that doesn’t get in the way of the misty-sappy-dreaminess.  I woke up this morning with that Anne Murray song in my head, so I thought I’d share it:

The Wedding Song (There Is Love)
Paul Stookey

He is now to be among you at the calling of your hearts
Rest assured this troubador is acting on his part.
The union of your spirits here has caused him to remain
For whenever two or more of you are gathered in his name
There is love.  There is love.

Well, a man shall leave his mother, and a woman leave her home
They shall travel on to where the two shall be as one.
As it was in the beginning, is now until the end
Woman draws her life from man and gives it back again.
And there is love.  There is love.

Well then what’s to be the reason for becoming man and wife?
Is it love that brings you here or love that brings you life?
If loving is the answer, then who’s the giving for?
Do you believe in something that you’ve never seen before?
There is love.  There is love.

The union of your spirits here has caused him to remain
For whenever two or more of you are gathered in his name
There is love.  There is love.

[sigh]   I loved that song when I was a kid.  I hardly know my landlords, of course.  We’ve only been living together for a couple of months.  I actually moved into the house before they did.  But living in a house creates a kind of intimacy that isn’t really avoidable … so I wondered what I should do about a wedding gift.  Once again with the help of Mopsy, I came up with the idea of knitting a throw.  So I found a pattern I liked and bought some yarn, and set about it.  I forgot to take a picture before wrapping it up, but I have an ‘in process’ one, so you can get an idea:

 

I’m happy enough with it.  I wish it was a bit wider, but I think it’s ok.  Now if only I could get Anne Murray’s voice out of my head!

One thought on “For whenever two or more of you are gathered in his name …

Your turn ...

