Imagine

Today I was walking through the subway station at Atlantic Avenue (for those who are unfamiliar with this station, it’s huge, like a tiny city underground) and, as I transferred from the 3 to the N, I heard somone playing “Imagine” on the cello.

I love the cello. Love the cello. The sounds it makes resonate in my heart and feels like home, like peace. I actually stopped for a second, turned to try to find the musician, but he or she was hidden, maybe on an LIRR platform. The sound was so clear, so elegant and sad. All morning I’d been blasting Rage Against the Machine in my ears (“Wake Up,” “Take the Power Back” and “Know Your Enemy” in particular). I don’t remember why I pulled my earphone out, but I did as I walked up the stairs, and that’s when I heard the cello. I pulled the other earphone out so I could listen and think about the words as I headed for the N.

Yeah. Imagine. Imagine living in a city where things like the killing of Sean Bell never happened … or happened once and we learned enough from it to make the changes in our hearts and heads that would mean it wouldn’t happen again. Imagine living in a place where the police officers who killed the innocent, unarmed man were actually held accountable for that killing. Imagine.

You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one.

2 thoughts on “Imagine

Your turn ...

