WTF?!?!

I woke up this morning hearing about this:

And I thought I must still have been a little bit asleep because that couldn’t really have happened. But there it is. And I have all kinds of thoughts about it, but I’m not going to talk about any of that.

I read about the same speech tonight on Crooks and Liars. C&L is a blog I’ve never come across before … and if the comments on this post are any indication of its readership, I don’t think I’ll be back. Please keep in mind that was Mike Huckabee up there at that NRA podium. Mike Huckabee all by himself giving a speech, trying to make an off-the-cuff funny. Mike Huckabee not in the throes of some creepy speechifying mind meld with his wife or anything like that. So explain this, the very first comment to the post: “Screw him and his fat ass wife.”

What? What? And that’s not the only comment about Huckabee’s wife. Another commenter seems to suggest that Mrs. Huckabee should be raped and that that would be ‘hilarious.’

I don’t get this. I mean, of course I do get it, but I’m still totally appalled.

6 thoughts on “WTF?!?!

  1. Those comments are pretty mind-numbingly offensive. It seems like the high-profile political blogs are troll magnets, which is really a shame. While I tell myself not to judge the blog by its commenters, I’ve stopped reading a few blogs myself because I can’t stomach the venom I see in the comments. I tell myself I should just stop reading the comments, but somehow I always feel compelled. And then often sickened.

    Like

  2. Yeah, I just wish I could understand that reflex: Oh, I’m mad at the man, let me take it out on his wife. Just so disturbing. There were a few people commenting who seemed a little put off by the ugliness of the responses, but they were definitely a minority.

    Like

  3. I try… and I mean REALLY try to keep positive about the world and the people in it. When that fails, I attack with facts, tact and most of all, as little emotion as possible. Emotion, when used in an attempt to make a point, almost always will undermine your POV.

    Emotion (both good and bad) is what most political blogs are about and promote it heavily. We actually had two great ways of describing this in the past: Yellow Journalism and Muck Raking. Neither one helps. For this reason, I stay away from most of those blogs and stick with the interesting ones about life and experiences. If I want to see some ranting, talking head, I can turn on the TV.

    But I don’t.

    Don’t let it get you down!

    Turkish Prawn
    http://foxandmaus.wordpress.com/

    Like

  4. You’re right, Turkish Prawn. I usually stay away from sites like that one, too. I’m still amazed that the first response was to lash out at a woman who had nothing to do with what was said. Just so very troubling.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’ve enjoyed reading your comments over at “Inmate’s” blog!
    –Stacie

    Like

Your turn ...

