Bad Week

This past week started badly and got worse. And I can’t really figure out why. Certainly the crushing heat of Monday and Tuesday was reason enough to be cranky, but I was more than cranky. I’d come home from work and write a post … but not post it. Come home, write a post, not post it. And again. And again. And as the week did it’s stereotypical wearing on, I just sunk deeper and deeper. I think my extreme exhaustion finally caught up with me this week. I just didn’t have the energy to communicate with anyone, even myself.

Then it was Friday, and I headed out to Westchester, to watch my strong, beautiful, funny, loving, smart, excellent nephew graduate from junior high. Seeing him, being with my family helped pulled me out of the gloom.

So this morning I went back to the rest of the posts I wrote last week, thinking I’d go ahead and hit ‘publish’ … and maybe I will, but …

Today I got word that a woman I have loved for nearly a decade died this morning after months of trying to fight her way back to wellness. So my bad week bleeds into sadness. I’m crying for dear, dear Joycelyn and for all of us who loved her, for her son and daughter who fought so hard for her.

Thank you, Joycelyn, for all your words of encouragement, for your wisdom, for your humor. I am missing you terribly.

3 thoughts on “Bad Week

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I know how hard it is to lose a much loved friend.

    And I’m sorry for your bad week. Your nephew’s graduation does sound like a bright light in the gloom of the rest of the week.

    Like

Your turn ...

