He was always talking from inside my head …

George Carlin

I first heard George Carlin when I was a kid, maybe 5th grade or 6th grade. He was on the radio singing a ‘hippie protest song’ he’d written:

Don’t want no war.

Don’t want no war.

Don’t want no war.

Don’t want no job, neither!

I thought he was brilliant. I loved his excellent routines about kids, cats, dogs, rotary phones, hors d’oeuvres, sex, censorship … and on and on. My mom, sister and I got to see him perform years ago in Westchester (right across from the Life Saver factory!), and he was too fantastic. A packed theater, everyone loving him, and he was just wonderfully on. I thought about him when I was walking my landlord’s dogs. He had a great bit about turning dog-walking into a math game with his kid. So many of his pieces seemed to be pulled out of the wacky cyclone of random thought in my brain. And that makes sense because his comedy often took the everyday and poked at it, picked it apart to show the real ‘funny’ inside.

And now he’s gone. He’ll be missed.

4 thoughts on “He was always talking from inside my head …

  1. Mopsy

    He actually played Homecoming at my college while I was there. I’m not sure if it was an off night for him or the fact that there were all these parents in the audience, but it did not go well. Oh well… ~ Mopsy

    Like

Your turn ...

