¿De donde soy?*

So if you never have, you might want to take a look at my “Hey” page and see what I look like.  I’ll wait.

Got it?  Ok, so I’m probably not looking too Mexican to you, huh?  Yeah, not to me, either.  But that’s one of the things I love about taking myself out of familiar waters … I learn new sh** all the time.  I had the surprise of talking to a guy at a bus stop yesterday and seeing his genuine surprise when I told him that no, I’m not Mexican.  Really.  Now I know there are pockets of this country where everyone is of African descent.  Acapulco and Veracruz are the two I’ve heard the most about.  I don’t actually look like any of those people, however.  Really not.  My height alone takes me out of the running, but also the fact that the Africans in Mexico fell in with los indios, so the blacks in Acapulco and Veracruz don’t look anything like me with their burnished skin and kinky Indian hair.

But that guy on the street wasn’t so surprising.  The first time I came to Mexico, I kept running into people who thought I was from Acapulco.  It’s pretty wild, that.  Of course, now that I’m beginning to be able to speak Spanish, I’ll probably be confusing even more people.  We’ll see.

 

* Where am I from?

2 thoughts on “¿De donde soy?*

  1. Husband’s former girlfriend speaks fluent Spanish, she is black and everyone would ask her if she was Cuban. He told me that when he found out that I was Cuban. This was in California, so I doubt that she has a Cuban accent. Heck, I don’t even have one!
    Anyway, be prepared to be asked that question when you get better at Spanish. Especially in places like the Yucatan.
    regards,
    Theresa

    Like

  2. Hi, Theresa, thanks for checking in. Yes, I’ve been asked about being Cuban, too. When I was in Veracruz two years ago, people were just greeting me on the street with, “Hola, la Cubana.” I have to say, I liked that a lot better than some of the ways people call out to me on the street!

    Like

Your turn ...

