SOL: This Is It

Oh come on, you know you want to be singing the song.

I went and stood in line this morning, trying hard to keep the big ol’ face-splitting smile on low.  How lovely was it to be voting in a predominantly black neighborhood today?

  • To see all those shades of the Diasporan rainbow coming out to cast their ballots.
  • To walk up to the school with a little group of elderly ladies who were glowing with the pleasure of getting to vote today.
  • To see everyone in such a great mood, chatting and laughing and, in one funny case, dancing in their joy of this day.
  • To see people taking their children into the booths.
  • To see one girl give her mother a big, exuberant hug when they came through the curtain.
  • To hear a little girl announce as she and her mom walked away from the booth, “I pulled it all by myself!”
  • To see so many very young, very new voters standing tall in line.
  • To see so many elderly African Americans making their way into the booths with canes, with walkers, with caregivers’ supporting arms.  “I wouldn’t have missed this for anything,” one woman told me.
  • My favorite was seeing a black man, maybe in his early 50s, step into the booth.  We heard that big lever slide over, heard the clicks of the small levers, and then we heard him shout “WooHoo!” as he pulled the big lever back and stepped out of the booth with a smile.

This has been a beautiful, emotional, ecstatic day.  I teared up many times, but my joy held the crying at bay.

Dig this:

vote

I haven’t cried yet, but I can feel it coming.  When this thing is called …

8 thoughts on “SOL: This Is It

  1. Yes, congratulations to us all! This has been such an incredible day. From the party-like atmosphere of the polling place this morning, to the smiles on the faces of random people on the street, to the tears I’ve just finished shedding. Just an outrageous day!!

  2. Lisa

    WOW! now I am sorry I was just filling in an absentee ballot all by myself in the kitchen. 🙂

    I see a picture book in this post. Can you draw that day?

  3. “# My favorite was seeing a black man, maybe in his early 50s, step into the booth. We heard that big lever slide over, heard the clicks of the small levers, and then we heard him shout “WooHoo!” as he pulled the big lever back and stepped out of the booth with a smile.”
    I had a similar experience… but the man I witnessed asked if he should put his name on it right before he put it into the machine. It was his first time voting, he admitted, and he wasn’t sure. When he heard to put it in just as it was, a big smile crossed his face. He looked so satisfied that he had the chance to finally vote. IT was beautiful watching him… simply beautiful.

  4. Thanks for bring this woman-on-the-street account to those of us who live in a predominantly white area. I saw some news coverage, but your words bring it out in a powerful way.

  5. Damn, why didn’t I pull out my phone camera. I was nervous about using my big camera in the polling place but that would have been okay. Sometimes I am too worried about following “the rules”. Tuvia doesn’t thing twice about what he wants to do.
    Bonnie

  6. I agree, Stacey, it was great watching the first-time voters, something really powerful about that. This morning I woke up to someone on NPR saying she had seen a man in his 60s at a polling place holding and urn. He had brought his mother with him to vote and was just standing on line, crying. That image had me waking up in tears.

    Thanks, Ladybug. I had such a wonderful experience voting, could actually feel the physical sense of being part of an enormous wave of energy, pride, hope. Really amazing.

    Bonnie, I’m so glad I took a picture. Not that I think anyone could have managed any kind of vote fraud here (if New York hadn’t gone for Obama, the world would have known there was something underhanded going on!), but it’s so cool to have that little record of the moment!

Your turn ...

