Day 8: One week down, so many words to go …

If I hope to make it to 50,000 words by 11:59:59pm on November 30th, I need to write 12,500 words a week.  Well, I managed to do that this week, thanks solely to the fact that last weekend I wrote like a crazy person.  Tuesday through Friday I did practically nothing.  Seriously.  I think on Tuesday I managed 250 words (need to clear 1,667 a day to stay on track) before the election was called and all the crying and laughing began.  And since then, well let’s just say that this novel hasn’t been the priority since then!

But today I was determined to get back to it, to actually write my daily total and not just eat up the buffer I created with last weekend’s ginormous output.  Started in the morning … nothing.  Held my notebook in my hand all the way to work … nothing.  Took a lunch break at work thinking about the story … nothing.  I started to get a little desperate, a little worried that maybe  I had run myself aground, lost momentum (not “Joe-mentum,” thank you very much … I never had any of that).

On my way home from , I decided not to go home, decided that I should find a convenient coffee shop — on my bus route, perhaps, since I haven’t found any good options near my house yet — and just sit there sipping decaf Americanos until I made my way through the word count.  I believe that last sentence should be written in the shape of a light bulb.  That proved to be the secret: I parked myself at a table at place on Atlantic Avenue and found my way back into the story.  I stayed until I had written more than 1,700 words.

Amusingly enough, there was a gaggle of NaNo writers at the front of the shop.  Two couples, all four working on novels.  I thought about introducing myself, but felt shy to just insert myself into their conversation.  It was nice to know they were there, though, to know that I wasn’t the only one plugging away at this challenge on a warm Saturday night.

If I can somehow keep this up, I’ll make the 50,000 words by November 30th … but that’s a BIG ‘if’ back there …

One thought on “Day 8: One week down, so many words to go …

  1. Cool that you ran into other novel writers. I am not planning to get together with any and I don’t expect to find any around my haunts. Great that you have your words in.
    Same here, although my time makes it easier to write more comfortably. It’s been a good week,
    Bonnie

Your turn ...

