Here we go …

So, while Alejna didn’t tag anyone for this meme, I find myself unable to resist.  Things in bold are the ones I’ve done; things in italics are things I’d like to do; thing in italics with an asterisk are things I really, really want to do … you get the picture.

Have I ever …

1. Started my own blog (um … yeah.)
2. Slept under the stars
3. Played in a band (yes, there was high school band and choir, but there was also the chamber choir in college and the chorus I performed with in Paris, complete with crazy conductor, romantic drama and a wacky weekend rehearsal retreat in the country!)
4. Visited Hawaii
5. Watched a meteor shower (on Long Island, stretched out on the beach … and then in Jamaica, stretched out in a beach chair … both times equally amazing)
6. Given more than I can afford to charity (well, not to a charity, but to the scholarship fund at my alma mater and my old summer camp if those count …)
7. Been to Disneyland/world
8. Climbed a mountain (A bunch of them, actually.)
9. Held a praying mantis (And why would this be a thing I’d want to do?)
10. Sung a solo (So many times it kind of surprises me!)
11. Bungee jumped
12. Visited Paris (lived there briefly)
13. Watched lightning at sea
14. Taught myself an art from scratch
15. Adopted a child (I’m still trying to figure this one out, still coming to terms with my childlessness, but I think this should be in italics.)
16. Had food poisoning
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty (three times!)
18. Grown my own vegetables
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France
20. Slept on an overnight train
21. Had a pillow fight
22. Hitchhiked
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill
24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb
26. Gone skinny dipping
27. Run a Marathon
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice (How did I miss this one?  I was in Venice twice.  I rode in the vaporetti, but never got in a gondola … oh, right, too worried about falling into the often scummy-looking water!)
29. Seen a total eclipse (but I was so young, I hardly remember it)
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset
31. Hit a home run
32. Been on a cruise
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person (… and rode the “Maid of the Mists” tour and everything.)
34. Visited the birthplace of my ancestors*
35. Seen an Amish community
36. Taught myself a new language
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied (I’m going to assume this means enough money to cover my bills and live without having to worry every five seconds about where the next pay check is coming from.)
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David
41. Sung karaoke (um … fond memory, Fox?)
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt
43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant
44. Visited Africa***********
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight
46. Been transported in an ambulance
47. Had my portrait painted
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris (Not until I read this in Alejna’s post did I remember that I actually never did this the whole time I was in France.  How crazy is that?)
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling
52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud
54. Gone to a drive-in theater (A double feature with my whole family: M*A*S*H  and Patton.  There was lots of talk about the drive-ins when I was in high school, but I never went.  Hmm … maybe that’s something I should write about one of these Mondays …)
55. Been in a movie.
56. Visited the Great Wall of China**
57. Started a business
58. Taken a martial arts class (I participated in a mini-course that was offered to the ladies in a GED class I taught years ago, but I’m not sure this counts.  I did learn how to use my jacket to swat a knife out of an attacker’s hand and how to smash someone’s instep, though!)
59. Visited Russia
60. Served at a soup kitchen
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies
62. Gone whale watching***
63. Got flowers for no reason
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma
65. Gone sky diving
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp
67. Bounced a cheque (Gee, how exciting to be able to put this one in bold!)
68. Flown in a helicopter
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial
71. Eaten Caviar
72. Pieced a quilt (although Mopsy just asked if I’d like to work on one she and her sister are making …)
73. Stood in Times Square
74. Toured the Everglades*
75. Been fired from a job (Given the number of times I left for vacation and didn’t return when I was supposed to, it surprises me that I’ve never been fired.)
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London
77. Broken a bone
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person (Does seeing it from a plane count?)
80. Published a book (Well, I have a chapter about to come out in a book … and I have my Blurb photo books … so in some ways this is a bold item, but it still feels not quite done.)
81. Visited the Vatican
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had my picture in the newspaper
85. Read the entire Bible (Again, hijacking Alejna’s comment: “I have read the words “the entire Bible.” Just now I even typed them.”)
86. Visited the White House* (I’ve stood outside the White House.  That’s not really the same, is it?)
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating
88. Had chickenpox
89. Saved someone’s life
90. Sat on a jury*
91. Met someone famous (Well, there is that James Baldwin episode …)
92. Joined a book club (two, actually.)
93. Lost a loved one
94. Had a baby
95. Seen the Alamo in person
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake
97. Been involved in a law suit
98. Owned a cell phone
99. Been stung by a bee
100. Rode an elephant*

51% … not bad.  I think that’s the best I’ve ever done on one of these things.  I’m still trying to figure out what the big deal is about holding a Praying Mantis.  And owning a cell phone.  And, I know I’m overly sensitive about this, but it seems unkind to have ‘had a baby’ on the list.  It’s not as though I was slacking or being forgetful, and it’s certainly not for lack of trying.  Anyway.

And to add the last bit of the meme … if you want to know more about any of the items on the list, I’ll take requests for future posts!

Consider yourself tagged if you’d like.  I’d love to see what random items we have in common … and see how different the stories behind those items are!

4 thoughts on “Here we go …

  1. 51% is quite a lot. And you know, I bet you could add a thing or two of interest to the list.

    I think seeing the Grand Canyon from a plane counts. I bet it was cool to see it from way above!

    I’m curious about your own karaoke experience. Is there a story there? And what’s this about a movie?

    The praying mantis thing baffles me, too. And yeah, the one about having a baby does seem unfair. It’s overall such a strange list, I think it must have been compiled by many. If I had the time, I’d be inclined to track it down.

  2. Lisa

    Ok, I got 54%. I like that list. And the praying Mantis thing…you gotta do it to get it. They are really cool. I think seeing the Grand Canyon from a plane absolutely counts. Lots of people only ever see it on one of those helicopter tours from Las Vegas. My favourite thing on the list is the whale watching. We never saw a whale though, just lots of dolphins. They are pretty curious about us.

Your turn ...

