Last Minute Plans …

+ one Griot Girl + a crazy dash for Penn Station = I’m going to the inauguration!!

No, seriously.  Pat had asked what I was going to do on Tuesday.  I figured I’d be in New York, watching on the big TV with my students, trying not to cry too hysterically in front of them.  I knew I wanted to be in DC, but didn’t think I could pull it off.

And I’m still not sure I’ll pull it off … but I’m on my way all the same.  About half a dozen of my friends were supposed to be going, but one by one they’ve all decided to stay home.  I know a few other folks who’ll be down here, but have no way of getting in touch with them now that they aren’t in Brooklyn.  Feh.

So I’m on my own … with millions of people.  A person who hates crowds crammed into what will surely be the biggest crowd I’ll ever be in.  Six thousand to a porta-john.  Oh, this should be interesting.

But really, how could I not come?  I’d talked myself out of it, told myself it wasn’t necessary for me to actually be in the same place as The Man on The Day.  But the closer Tuesday got …

I will not be ‘liveblogging’ this event.  I will be too busy laughing, crying, taking pictures and keeping warm.  I’m back in Brooklyn Wednesday morning at 3am, and I’m sure I’ll have something to say then.  Happy inauguration, everybody!

8 thoughts on “Last Minute Plans …

  1. Oh, I am tearing up just knowing you are going!!! It is the Stacie thing to do, don’t you think? Facing fears. We all are going to have to learn how to do that. Somehow, having Obama in the White House makes it easier for me to do it.

    Looking forward to your memories already!

    Like

  2. Kendall

    Good luck, have fun, and stay warm! I would have love to be there but as it is, I’ll settle for watching on TV, near tears, and celebrating with my friends. I’m ecstatic to hear that you have the opportunity to be in DC today.

    Looking forward to hearing about it tomorrow. : )

    Like

  3. I had a great time, and I promise I’m going to write about it. Probably tomorrow.

    Bonnie, you were there, too?! I should have known you’d find a way to get down there. I love the photos you sent. Sorry I missed the chance to meet you and Tuvia.

    Like

Your turn ...

