Did an angel whisper in your ear?

As far as I know, Mildred never found a reason to get back to Lake Charles despite having been born there.  From the moment I heard Lucinda Williams’ song, however, it was connected in my mind to my aunt.

There is so much about her that I never knew, that I am learning now that she is gone.  I learned that she was able to convince someone at the all-white University of Texas School of Medicine to let her all-black high school science club tour the school and see the labs.  Now see, I might have tried to arrange such a trip, but I would have relied on a strategically batted eye or a coy smile, this warm musical voice that everyone always comments on.  But Mildred was never a sweet-talker, so I’d love to know how she worked that one out.

I learned that she was in Boston during the time of the Boston Strangler (yikes!), casually staying out late at night doing her lab work.

Mildred taught for 25 years in Texas and another 20 in New York and worked summers as a camp counselor for 30.  People from all those classes and all those wonderful summers in the nature room have all kinds of stories about her, too.  Fox had the excellent idea of putting up a rememberance blog and inviting people to share their stories and photos.  Here are a couple of the lovely notes that have been posted:

I am so glad she was able to share in the joy of the Inauguration.  She was a delightful friend to me when I was a new counselor and Nurse at Treetops, starting in 92.  She had a sweet way of making me feel special and that meant a lot since she was such an extraordinary woman herself. I worked with her in the last years of her tenure at Treetops and I definitely consider it to be a privilege.

I was one of Millie’s campers for many years at Camp Treetops.  My years in Junior Camp seldom found me far from her nature room.  I remember vividly the terrariums, the incubating eggs, the live off the land trips, the blueberry fritters (which make my mouth water just thinking about them), the annual dinner (which a few of us were lucky enough to be invited to from senior camp) and most of all, I remember her warmth and love.  She deeply loved all her campers and opened up worlds of possibilities to us (stinging nettle soup, anyone?).  A deep part of my feelings about the natural world and human kindness I trace back to Millie and every year, when I return to NCS, I always expect to see her, spectacles half way down her nose, arms full of flowers and plants, leading a troop of eager young campers back to the nature room.

I always think “Millie,” as she told her campers, as I was in the 80s, to call her, when I see purslane, stinging nettles, and other “weeds” on city menus. Or when I tell someone about eating milkweed pods collected in an old graveyard, where she had us notice the artistic details and records of lives lived among the old stones, as well as how the dead fed the plants that gave us food. Or her beaming smile and enthusiastic participation when playing the piano during square dances or when we sang, “All God’s Creatures Got a Place In the Choir,” a song I still associate with her. That she provided a shelter, in the Nature Shop, for so many odd ducks, animal and human (among whom I’d count myself), was consistent with the generosity and curiosity she tried to impart to us. Better than almost anyone I’ve known, Millie taught us that the things we take for granted all around us contain hidden value and purpose, and that there’s a place for and dignity to everyone and everything in this mysterious cosmos.  She was a truly lovely human being, who helped so many people in her long life.

I arrived at Camp Treetops not knowing anyone, to work as the camp nurse, and very quickly upon meeting Mildred decided that this must be a pretty good place. Her love for teaching the children about the wonders of the natural world gave the basement of junior camp a bit of a magical feeling. For my children,  and for so many others, the nature shop in junior camp was a little quiet sanctuary where there were so many things to do and learn , but more importantly it was a place to receive a little Mildred  love and care. Mildred will always be present at Treetops for everyone who knew her there.

mildred_at_camp_1981_001

Here she is at Camp.  She’s almost 70 in this photo, if you can believe that.  I love knowing that she touched so many other people, that our tiny family isn’t alone in seeing and appreciating what a true gem she was and how lucky we were to have her.

_____

And here’s Lucinda:

7 thoughts on “Did an angel whisper in your ear?

  1. She was pretty remarkable. We had her funeral on Saturday and it was really amazing to see how many people came out and to hear all the fabulous stories they had to tell about her. I just know she was laughing along with all of us through the whole day!

    Like

  2. Almost 70! Holy moley–before I saw the caption, I thought, “That must be Stacey’s aunt when she was about 40.” She sounds like a truly marvelous person. (And she was lovely to look at, too, judging from your photos here.)

    Like

  3. I know, she definitely doesn’t look like an almost-70 year old in that photo, does she? My fingers are crossed that I’ve inherited some of those genes, but at the same time, I know her smooth skin and forever-young looks were due as much to her healthy lifestyle as her genes … and I definitely haven’t inherited the lifestyle!

    Like

  4. My longest-lived relative–she made it to 99 in quite fine form–married into the family, alas, so I hear you on not inheriting what we might have wanted from a family member, one way or another.

    Like

Your turn ...

