Like he said …

“I cannot go to school today,”
Said little Peggy Ann McKay,
“I have the measles and the mumps,
A gash, a rash, and purple bumps.
My mouth is wet, my throat is dry,
I’m going blind in my right eye.
My tonsils are as big as rocks,
I’ve counted sixteen chicken pox
And there’s one more–that’s seventeen,
And don’t you think my face looks green?”

— from “Sick” by Shel Silverstein

Yes, today I had no choice but to give in to The Sick.  I tried to get my act together for work, but my body had other plans.  I made it through my teaching week (barely), but had to give today’s meetings a pass.  Here’s hoping the weekend sees the end of this really awful cold.

5 thoughts on “Like he said …

  1. Ray

    If you had gone to work you would only have passed your cold on to everyone else. Better to stay at home and be good to yourself. Take it easy!

    Like

  2. Molly

    I hope you get well soon enough to enjoy at least part of the week-end! When you are ill, you must stay home. It is as important to accept that as it is to work hard when you can.

    Like

  3. Thanks, everyone. I’m trying to just rest. Even after I decided to stay home last night, I thought, “Oh, good, now I can spend the whole day catching up on all the blogs I haven’t read.” Well, once again, my body had other ideas. I slept most of the day — the first part of it spend falling asleep over my laptop as I was trying to read online! Today I’m feelin a little bit better, but still have a ways to go. I’m going out today just to replenish my kleenex and chicken soup supply and then I’ll be back in the bed!

    Like

Your turn ...

