Daydream Believer

I got an email the other night that has got me dreaming.  My lovely friend The Harpist wrote to inspire me to apply for a residency at an artists’ colony that looks like heaven.  I’ve toyed with the idea of applying to MacDowell, to Yaddo, to all the writers’ colonies and retreats.  I’ve never gone past the point of downloading the applications.  I never quite think I have what it takes, whatever that might be.   But the thought of collaborating on something with my friend is so very attractive, and since reading that email I’ve been thinking …

There’s a lot to pull together in the short time before the application deadline, and I’m still not entirely sure I’m going to go for it, but if I got in, this would be exactly the kind of gift-to-look-forward-to that my dusty creativity has been wishing for.

10 thoughts on “Daydream Believer

  1. dlwstar

    GO FOR IT!!!! I am an actor and the first thing we learn in audition class is: You don’t know what the other person is looking for. Present your self as complete and true or incomplete and true as you are. I want an update on the application process in my mailbox by next Thursday, young lady! Sorry I have been working on responsibility and advocacy with my kids, you don’t need to update me.

  2. molly

    what dlwstar said.
    I hope the application process is not too daunting, because it sounds like a perfect opportunity.

  3. If you want it you should apply. I think you underestimate yourself. What would you tell one of your talented students to do? APPLY!!
    I once didn’t apply for a job that I wanted because I thought I was underqualified, when no one applied for the job, they reposted it at a higher wage, I ended up #2, if I had applied the first time I would have gotten it. Apply.
    regards,
    Theresa

    ps. I think you should apply, why would you be posting about it if you didn’t want to do it?

  4. Thanks for the support! I am looking at the list of things I have to pull together for the application. I think I hedged in this post because I’ve gone down this path before and done nothing. But the push from my friend, the idea of working on a project with her … maybe this time I’ll actually send in an application. I definitely want to, I just have a hard time seeing myself as ‘worthy’ whatever that’s supposed to mean.

  5. Count me among your supporters in this regard–with whatever you decide. Not applying is fine, applying is fine, and if you apply and get in, that would be fantastic! (I can easily picture you doing something like this, for what it’s worth, and loving it and meeting lots of great people and getting tons out of the experience.)

  6. molly

    Guess what — you don’t have to be the best in the world to apply. You don’t even need to be “worthy”. They need applications if they are going to give it to somebody. It would be a shame if they had to give it to somebody who is less qualified than you are, just because you didn’t apply. Plus, maybe they are looking for somebody just like YOU.
    You are worthy, you deserve. What’s more, you always give.
    Here’s my very free advice: apply, and then don’t tell anybody that you did. Not even us.

  7. Thanks, ladies! I really appreciate the support. Molly, I think you have the right idea. I had originally planned not to tell a soul, but I was so excited, I couldn’t hold it in. We’ll see what happens …

Your turn ...

