Mi Secreto

Sí, yo tengo un secreto.  La semana pasada yo recibí una llamada de mi amigo Kingfisher.  Uno de sus trabajos en esto momento es con Telemundo, y él quiere que yo hago una pequeña entrevista en el programa Las Comadres con Gloria B.  Voy a hablar de mi programa educativo y las oportunidades de prepararse por un trabajo como Asistente de Enfermeras.

Estoy muy nerviosa de esta entrevista.  Yo no debo hablar en español, pero estoy nerviosa de cualquier modo.  La grabación para el programa será el 5 Abril.  Entonces, yo tengo unos días para calmar mis nervios…  ¡O a lo menos para decidir que puedo llevar!

_____

In other words:

I have a secret.  Last week, I got a phone call from my friend Kingfisher.  One of the things he’s doing right now is working with Telemundo, and he wants me to do a small interview on the show Comadres con Gloria B.  I will talk about my program, in particular the vocational classes we offer (ok, this is officially no longer pretending to be a direct translation) that enable people to get entry-level health care jobs like Certified Nursing Assistant.

I’m really nervous about this interview.  I don’t have to speak Spanish (thank goodness!), but I’m nervous all the same.  The taping for the show is going to be April 5th.  So, I have a few days to calm my nerves …  Or at least to figure out what I’m going to wear!

 ∞

Now it’s true that I wrote that with only limited help from my dictionary, but a) there’s a big difference between sitting at my desk and writing in Spanish and sitting on the set of a TV show and talking in Spanish and b) I don’t even know if what I wrote is correct!  Any Spanish speakers in the house?  Want to tell me how I did?

15 thoughts on “Mi Secreto

  1. Tracey

    I don’t know Spanish, sorry, but I love the title of this post. Good luck with the interview– which of your identities will you be?

    Like

  2. You’ll be fine. Very happy for you. A friend of mine who is used to speaking publicly was asked to do a guest spot on local television and like you she was really nervous. Well, she did fine so well they asked her back.

    Breathe. Focus on your message, your work and you’ll do well.

    Like

  3. molly

    I speak Italian, and I could understand most of what you wrote. I don’t know if that is any comfort. My experience is that people appreciate ANY effort to speak a language that is not your native tongue. Your program is so wonderful that it is really important to get the message out. If you can think of that, maybe you will be less nervous. You just need to pass the word.
    How cool! I think it is great you are doing this!
    Your Spanish is very impressive!

    Like

  4. I KNOW you will be great, you’re a teacher. You are up in front of a tough audience regularly. You will be great and it will be a great time for you…a new challenge!
    At the moment, I am watching Obama’s press conference. How wonderful to have a real president in charge. Just think about him when you get interviewed,
    Bonnie

    Like

  5. Hola Mi Amiga,

    Ahora yo vive en un país Español(La República de Panamá) pero mi Español no es bien. Yo vive aquí para tres anos y yo entiende mas pero no hablar correcto. Mi amigas dice, “Hablar y en tiempo tu hablar bien.” La problema es yo trabajo en un escuela ingles. No tengo mucho tiempo en la dia para practicar.

    So this is probably not correct! I just try my best and this is hard for someone who is a grammatical stickler (in English).
    Sometimes I feel quite foolish, but I try anyway. The Spanish are forgiving folks!

    Like

  6. tracygoz

    Muy Bien! Wow! Yea for you, it is hard to write in both languages. I tell my students that can read in write in both languages to keep it up because they are ahead of the rest of us.

    El que es bilingue, vale por dos

    Like

  7. Hooray!!

    I work with newly arrived immigrants and have had a couple of (impromptu) spots on the local Spanish radio station… just to let you know that I am a walking example that it is possible to make a complete fool of yourself (more than once) and live to tell about it.

    I’m thrilled for you and hope that lots of people hear about the opportunities… we definitely need more Spanish-speakers in health care!!

    Like

  8. Yay! I could read every word of that in Spanish, except for “grabacion.” I didn’t read the English version, but now I’m going to, just to get that word. (I took many years of Spanish in my youth, and there are lots of Spanish speakers here in San Francisco and in my neighborhood.)

    Not long ago, I was unlocking my bike after work and heard a small child yelling, “Como esta?! Como esta?!” over and over. As he hove into view with his mother, I said, “Estoy bien. Y tu?” and he looked flabbergasted. His mother thought it was funny and told him, “See, other people speak Spanish, too.”

    Congratulations on being so honored! I have no doubt you will do just fine.

    And I agree that your Spanish is very solid indeed. Being able to express all of that in Spanish proves it.

    Like

  9. OK, now I read the English part and, while I’m not a fluent speaker/writer of Spanish, I thought you did great. (Maybe that means my Spanish comprehension is about at the same level as your Spanish expression–but we understood each other!)

    Like

  10. Gracias a todas! I’m still not entirely sure what’s expected of us for this Comadres appearance, but I’ll find out more on Monday. I’m still don’t know if they want me to use tranlsation for the whole thing, or if they are trusting my friend’s assurance that I speak some Spanish. I’ll keep you all posted!

    Like

  11. It was fine, pretty darn close to perfect.
    You said that you shouldn’t or aught not to speak Spanish instead of have to speak Spanish which makes it a little odd. No necesito hablar en español or No debo tener que hablar en español. (the yo is unnecessary but not incorrect, just not common usage) is what I would have written.
    My written Spanish is always better than my spoken Spanish. Then there is the fact that my spell check is Spain Spanish not Mexico Spanish which makes for interesting corrections on some Mexican words.
    Thinking Aloud, it’s el día, el agua, el problema, el clima, el diploma, those are hard to remember since they seem like they should be feminine, el problema was so hard for me, anything that ends in ma is masculine for some obscure reason. You are correct though, the more you practice the easier it will get and I applaud you for trying!
    regards,
    Theresa

    Like

  12. Thanks, Theresa! I was wondering about the use of ‘deber’ I was going to use ‘tener que’ by itself, but for some reason shifted over the ‘deber’ … ‘necesitar’ didn’t even occur to me, but it would have been the word I’d have used in English. Funny.

    As much as I think I’d be most comfortable relying on my co-worker to translate for me, I am kind of hoping I’ll get to talk at least a little bit in Spanish. We’ll see.

    Like

Your turn ...

