A Slight Return

Jimi in my ears
each beat makes my iPod smile
his guitar so good
vibrating through my body
laughs and whispers, calls my name

_____

Definitely one of the better days of the last two weeks.  At last!  I don’t think I’m fully out of the woods, but I’m closer.

Today was the dreaded geometry portion of the math workshop series … and I got through it with only one brief moment of panic.  I have to say it again, Steve is the most outstanding teacher.  It shouldn’t be possible for someone to make me do geometry and not leave me scarred.  And yet there I was …  Amazing.

In yesterday’s morning class and tonight’s evening class I tried out the first of Steve’s lessons with my students.  Fabulous.  My students had so much fun.  They really got into it, and I had such a good time with them.  Can’t wait to continue the lesson next week.

It’s hard to believe there’s only a week left of this month.  Harder, still, to believe I have actually managed to write a poem a day this month … and that they’ve all been tanka!  I’ll admit that I’m pretty impressed with myself.  Maybe it’s time for me to stop saying how I’m not a poet.  I may not be a great poet, but I’m clearly capable of writing poems.  (My mother is shaking her head right now, thinking, “Does she forget that she used to write poems all the time?”  No, I haven’t forgotten, but — and you really have to admit this is true — those poems were mostly pretty painfully bad.  The ones I write now are a bit better, and some of these tanka may even be pretty good!)

So, for this last week of April, Stacey and Ruth are hosting a poem-a-day challenge, and a handful of intrepid souls have jumped in. Last year I doubted I could do a whole week.  This year I’ve already done three weeks … and there have been a few days when I’ve written more than one!  This is as amazing to me as having had fun in geometry class this afternoon.  One of the first things I read when I started checking out the tanka form was about keeping a tanka diary, writing tanka to capture the dominant emotion of each day.  So maybe I’ll keep this us for a while, see just how far I can push myself, see if I can break through that wall between ‘ok’ and ‘good.’

 poem-a-day

13 thoughts on “A Slight Return

  1. I wish I could say I succeeded with a poem a day, still I write. I’ve enjoyed reading your poems. Today’s is especially nice.

    Happy for you, poet. Well done.

    1. Thanks! I’m still pretty amazed I’ve been able to do this … maybe because I chose such a small, strict form it was in some way easier? I don’t know. I’m looking forward to seeing how long I can sustain this effort!

  2. Molly

    I look forward to your poem every day. It’s quite a commitment, I understand. Congratulations, and I would like it if you kept going.

  3. Glad to hear you’re almost out of the woods! (or the abyss, as I like to call it) Personally, I’ll be glad when May 1st rolls around…I won’t stop writing haiku, but getting to 11:55pm and realizing I haven’t posted one yet has to stop…I’ve really enjoyed your tanka. If you want to be a poet, just claim it!

    1. but getting to 11:55pm and realizing I haven’t posted one yet has to stop” Yes, you’re so right! This has been making me crazy!

      But I’ll keep up with the tanka one way or another. It’s been an interesting exercise. I’m really not a poet. I’m a fiction writer and an essayist and sometimes I write poetry … or maybe that’s an old description now? We’ll see what I think once this tanka diary of mine is a little bigger …

    1. Hey thanks, Chris! I guess I have to get over myself a little and get out of my way, too. I know where this resistance to thinking of myself as a poet comes from, but maybe it’s time to get past it once and for all.

  4. Greetings GG! I discovered your blog via Li’l Lovin Monday at Susan’s. I really enjoyed reading your poem – I’m a fan of Jimi’s as well.

    1. Thanks, for stopping by, Claudia. I found your blog through Zetta at Fledgling. I love the name … and have to love that you’re a MistyLook woman, too!

Your turn ...

