Where’s that vodka when I need it?

A little super learning would go down right just now.  I haven’t had a chance to focus much on Spanish class, and it shows.  I think Gustavo was more than a little surprised at how much I couldn’t say in class today.  So frustrating.

tripping and stumbling
my words spill out haltingly
I’ve studied so long
still I make the same mistakes
where is my breakthrough moment

Maybe it isn’t as bad as all that, but it felt that bad.  And no lessons at all next week, so I need to make some time for studying before the next class!

poem-a-day

2 thoughts on “Where’s that vodka when I need it?

  1. molly

    Your brain may be organizing its larger and more global understanding of the language. Be patient. Also, maybe you were tired. I can’t even speak English when I’m too tired. I let my foreign language students say “pass” when they don’t want to play. I think observing a language can be as valuable as speaking it (up to a point). Tell Gustavo to cut you a break, and you cut yourself one, too. –of course, studying is never wrong.

    1. You’re so right, Molly. It’s just hard to be patient with myself sometimes! I think that day I was upset because I knew I’d be doing the Telemundo taping the next day, and I felt so completely incapable of using my Spanish. Gustavo is definitely not as hard on me as I am on myself … he’s not hard on my at all. Yes, he tells me I should practice, but he never sighs heavily or indicates in any way that he is throwing up his hands in disbelief at my slow progress! Who knows what he’s really doing as he sits in his office in Antigua, but he always sounds like the soul of patience …

Your turn ...

