Hodge Podge

Listening to the Bad Plus play Rush’s “Tom Sawyer” … really strange and wonderful.  Makes me think of Chris Reilly and Radiohead, of course.  And also sends me right back to high school.

This has been a quiet, lazy day.  It wasn’t supposed to be.  I have an enormous to-do list that I let languish.  I just can’t work seven days straight.  I’m going into the office tomorrow, and I’m traveling tomorrow for the conference.  I just couldn’t make myself work today, too.  I’ll pay for it, sure, but I think I don’t mind.

One of my co-workers has just returned from Jamaica (yes, I am insanely jealous).  She went for a friend’s wedding, and they spent a couple of days in ‘my neighborhood’ at the end of the trip, so I got to sit and look through her photos yesterday and see many many familiar places … and a few familiar faces, too!  I am truly jones-ing for a vacation right now, and seeing her photos really made me want to be ‘home.’ [sigh]

I drift quietly
heart, mind, peacefully at rest
I can close my eyes
here is the place I should be
this love, this touch, takes me in

Hmm … not quite.  I could write a Jamaica tanka every day for the next month and still only skim the surface.

8 thoughts on “Hodge Podge

  1. molly

    please do write a Jamaica tanka every day for the next month. well, not every day, but almost every day. I believe in projects, and you have certainly shown that you believe in projects, but I also believe in flexibility with yourself. I will look forward to the Jamaica tankas. (oops, I’ve been typing “tanga”, which is not only ignorance, it is also because it’s tropical).

    Like

    1. I can be a little like a pit bull when it comes to these challenges sometimes, can’t I? Silly, really, but I’m having a lot of fun with my tankas. And I think I’m liking the idea of a bunch of Jamaica poems as text for a book of Jamaica photography …

      Like

  2. Do you have time to cook a real Jamaica dish with the sights and smells you can’t get anywhere else? Maybe it would be a culinary tanka and you could then word tanka it. Oh, you know what I mean.

    Like

    1. You know, Pat, I’m so silly sometimes … not even thinking about the fact that I can walk into any grocery store in my neighborhodd and buy the kinds of foods I’m used to eating in JA. Why didn’t I think of that? Definitely fodder for a tanka!

      Like

Your turn ...

