Time Flies

… not that I haven’t been having fun, but how can it be August 1st?  Wasn’t it just New Year’s?  Wasn’t it about six days ago that I skipped work to go to the inauguration?

One thing the quick flipping of calendar days means is that my birthday will be here much sooner than I’m ready for it to be here.  My birthday, a day which lives in infamy, has been an annual trauma for the last seven years.  And yes, I am selfish enough that this bothers me.  I can’t seemd to be truly comfortable celebrating the day, and at the same time I feel annoyed to have the day taken from me.  It was, after all, my birthday first.

But there’s more than a month before I need to worry about that.  In the mean time, I have a new school year to plan for, complete with many changes I have yet to figure out — new locations for classes, a new layout to our schedule, new systems we have to figure out and put in place.

I’m looking forward to being back in the classroom, though I’m not at all ready for it.  I miss my students, miss the energy boost of working with them, planning lessons for them.  My days have run past so quickly, I never got around to making any summer goals this year.  Instead, I’ll make some goals for the coming school year:

  • Be a better juggler: I have to get better at balancing all the work I have to do as a teacher with all the work I have to do as a program director … and still have time to breathe and get a few decent nights’ sleep each week. 
  • Continue to work on being a better math teacher.
  • Find ways to more fully fund my program so that I don’t have to spend so much time scrambling to cover salaries and make ends meet.
  • Develop a college transition program for our GED grads.
  • Be a better supervisor for our instructors.
  • Do more student publishing and encourage other teachers to do more student publishing, too.

I could keep this list going and going and going, but I think this is more than enough to keep me quite busy in the coming year.  In some ways, the entire list depends on my juggling ability.  Taking on the morning class last year took me out of my office for so much of the work week, I spent the whole year feeling like I was playing catch-up.  I don’t want to feel that way in the new year.  Or, at least, not all the time!

3 thoughts on “Time Flies

  1. My 60th birthday arrives on August 7. Yes, 60. And the celebration will be large and far away-Vancouver as we begin a train ride across the Rockies to Calgary. I am excited.
    I do remember August 1…when I was teaching with September looming. I looked forward to the kids, but not to the bags of papers to be read and graded.
    I remember, Stacie…
    Bonnie

  2. Happy early birthday, Bonnie! How wonderful that you’re on your way to Vancouver. I went a few years ago with my sister and we both fell in love with the city. I can’t wait to see pictures from your train ride west!

  3. Thanks Stacie,
    Can’t wait to begin this adventure. I could use a jump start to my photo a day challenge. I’ve been away working elsewhere on the web.
    bonnie

Your turn ...

