14 Sleeps

That’s my count down number for Jamaica.  Two weeks from now, I’ll have touched down at Sangster, been collected by my taxi driver and driven down and down and down to the opposite coast.  I’ll have driven through the huge orange orchard and past the “Jah Lives in I” shack.  I’ll have stopped at Scott’s Cove to pick up spicy grilled fish for my dinner.  I’ll have settled into the Red Room — my digs for the duration — and maybe even had my first walk on the beach.

Am I ready at home?  No.  Am I ready at work?  No. Do I care at all about being ready?  Well, yes, some, but not enough for it to get in the way of being excited about finally getting back to JA.

Here are some of the things I’m looking forward to:

  • Seeing my friends
  • Making new friends
  • Relearning how to play dominoes
  • Gorgeously-warm ocean water
  • Conch soup
  • Jerk lobster
  • Blue Mountain coffee with condensed milk
  • Mackerel run-down
  • Ackee (see header photo …)
  • Coconut shrimp with festival
  • Ice cold Ting
  • Thursday night movies on the beach
  • Early morning bike rides

Fourteen sleeps.  Only fourteen sleeps …

8 thoughts on “14 Sleeps

  1. molly

    I am so excited that you are going. I am selfishly enjoying the prospect of your journey (like a travel leech). I am grateful for the descriptions of places and experiences. I really do wish you the best, that is sincere, but so is my voyeuristic joy and enjoyment of this trip, for me. I love to travel, especially when somebody else does it for me.

    Like

    1. I’m a travel leech, too, Molly. There’s a new internet cafe open a couple of villages over from where I’ll be staying, so I should be able to meander on over there a couple of times while I’m away and post a thing or two. And, of course, I’m sure I’ll have plenty to say when I get back!

      Like

    1. Oh, I am entirely ready to walk out my door and not look back! It’s just pesky things like my job and not having finished sewing my sun dresses … that last is, of course, the most important. A girl needs new frocks before leaving for vacation!

      Like

Your turn ...

