Only my hairdresser knows for sure …*

… well, my hairdresser and TNT, apparently.

I like to believe I look pretty young (that pic on the “Kin” page is a couple years old, but I haven’t changed much).  I feel pretty young most days, and I certainly act painfully young a good percetage of the time.  True, at work I am surrounded by 20-something AmeriCorps members and interns, which is a constant reminder that I am not twenty years old, but it’s not making me feel one-hundred-and-twenty, either.

Last week I saw a commercial for TNT’s new series, Men of a Certain Age.  I’ve always wondered what that ‘certain age’ might be.  Well, I need wonder no longer.  The men in that show are 47.  I guess it makes sense to think of 47 as middle-aged …  Or at least it made sense when 47 was some distant, unimaginable age and I was 20 and not thinking about things like that anyway.  And it’s true that I described myself as middle aged in a recent post, but there’s a big difference between me saying it and hearing it thrown at me while I’m minding my own business, watching a TV commercial.  And, too, with all this 40-is-the-new-30 nonsense that I hear all over the place, TNT just seems mean, plain and simple.  Do I really need my wake-up calls from cable TV?

But becoming a woman of a certain age has its perks:

Yes, how much do you love Saffire?  I won’t say when I first heard this song.  Long enough ago that it made me blush.  Now it just makes me laugh.  Guess I had to grow into it, eh?  (Hmm … does the fact that AC is two years younger than I am make me a cougar?)

_____

*  Never mind that the Miss Clairol commercial my title comes from is OLD and so using it dates me as sure as TNT’s commercial does.  Just never mind that.

Your turn ...

