Rainy Days and Mondays

Rain.  It’s our forecast through the weekend.  I shouldn’t complain because a) it’s not snow, and b) I like rain.  I like walking under a big, pretty umbrella, like seeing everyone’s fun and funky rain boots, like watching kids splash joyously in every puddle they can find.  Rain is good.

But I can’t help thinking of the Carpenters song.  This has been a long and unexpectedly difficult week.  As I was drafting this post in my notebook, I was on my way to work to pack up my office.  No, I’m not leaving my job, I’m just moving to an office down the hall.  I’m not excited, but I’m trying to be grown up about it.  I get why it’s necessary (the suite of offices for my program is too small for all the people we need to fit in it, so I’m making way for a new coordinator because it makes sense for her to be near her staff), I’m just feeling sour.  I like the little sanctuary I’ve created in my current space and the new one won’t lend itself to the same comfort or privacy, to say nothing of the fact that I’m moving away from the people I work most closely with.  Ultimately, it will be fine, but right now it makes me cranky.

Too, some good news I was going to write about last week was ripped out of my hands on Monday.  On my way up to WE LEARN, I got word that we’d been awarded a grant we really, really needed for our teen programs.  Monday night we got word that the funder had rescinded all awards and that it will be “some time n the future” before we hear from them about reapplying.

And that on top of the budget cuts the city government has handed down.  The cuts that are forcing an early end to classes this year and will decrease services for next year.

–sigh– Now it feels like a rainy day.

_____

Check out the rest of the slices of life over at Stacey and Ruth’s.

12 thoughts on “Rainy Days and Mondays

  1. Elizabeth

    Oh, man. Rainy day, inside and out for you. I think you are bearing up well on moving your office–a difficult process to “uncreate,” and then re-create. But the news about your funding–well, I think it was more than rain–it was a veritable thundercloud with lightning and horrible loud rolling thunder. I’m impressed that you’re still pressing on, doing the best you can with what’s come your way.

    I’d lend you one of my umbrellas, if we were closer. Hang in there.

  2. Lots of blows to deal with Stacie. You could use something light and airy- so sunshine and a sliver lining. Cuts in education seem criminal and you need a great work space. We do we get to the picket lines.
    Bonnie

    1. Yes, I had an email from a friend two days ago inviting me to Cancun for a week! I won’t be joining her, but it was an excellent invitation to get at the end of this less than excellent week.

    1. Yeah, grey and long … but as far as the actual weather went, the rain and wind were amazing! I was actually worried that the windows at work were going to blow in, the wind was so strong. It was cool to watch sheets of rain being blown down the street, though I’m sure the people on the street weren’t finding it so cool!

  3. molly

    So sorry about all of this. If I had to change offices, I know I would cry. The funding, well, the funding is a tragedy. I’m sorry.

  4. Stacie, you speak for all of us. These are hard times and it seems like it’s raining all over the world! I’m so sorry your program lost the promise of extended funding.

    Check out this youtube of Sam Moore and Conway Twitty singing Rainy Night in Georgia. (I think it was originally a Ray Charles song).

Your turn ...

