Down By the Sea

if mama
could see
she would see   
lucy sprawling   
limbs of lucy
decorating the
backs of chairs
lucy hair
holding the mirrors up   
that reflect odd   
aspects of lucy.
if mama
could hear
she would hear
lucysong rolled in the
corners like lint
exotic webs of lucysighs
long lucy spiders explaining   
to obscure gods.
if mama
could talk
she would talk
good girl   
good girl   
good girl
clean up your room.
                                                     — Lucille Clifton
__________

So here we are: Cape Ann, Massachusetts, Rockport, Pidgeon Cove, the lovely Quaterdeck Inn-by-the-sea!  I can’t wait to see what it looks like in daylight.  All of our rooms face the water.  The room I’m sharing has a wall that is all windows looking out at the ocean.  Our sunrise tomorrow should be pretty fab.

“The room I’m sharing” … yes, because I’m not alone.  For those who don’t know me outside of this blog, I am a lousy sharer.  Really.  No, REALLY.  And sharing a room is pretty low on the list of things I like to do.  But it’s a little pricey with six staff members on this trip for all of us to have our own room, so there’s some sharing.

And it’s fine, actually.  It’s certainly not the end of the world, I’m just being a baby.  I’ve shared a hotel room with this co-worker before (when we co-facilitated a workshop at the WE LEARN conference three years ago), so I already know we’ll be fine together.  We get along quite well and our very different selves fit nicely in shared space.  I made a bit of a fuss about it, but now that we’re here, it couldn’t matter less.  We have a huge room, a double-sinked bath, and space to really spread out.  Pretty sure I’ll be fine.  And yes, the wall of windows overlooking the Atlantic doesn’t hurt.  Not a bit.

Still not sure what to expect from the next three days of our retreat, but definitely looking forward to getting things going.

My life should have been
by the sea —
born on the water, my skin
burnished mahogany
(never the winter-grey, weak tea
reflected in the mirror tonight).
Cape Ann, Jamaica, Sagres, Sardinia … the sea is right.

__________

And just to make this post as overly-busy as possible:

4 thoughts on “Down By the Sea

  1. I have an issue about sharing too and it will happen soon, but I don’t think I have a way out. For me the issue is sleeping. Oh well, who needs sleep?
    The Sea…your poem take me to the edge and I’m jumping in.
    Bonnie

    Like

    1. I’m not sure what the issue is for me. I have the ability to be a good sharer … I’m just not. Oh, yet another things to work on.

      Or not. I share when I need to. I get out of my way and make it work, as I did on the retreat, and as I’ll do when my retreat room mate and I head down the Grand Cayman this summer. As long as I get to come home to my not-shared space, I think I’m fine.

      Like

  2. Molly

    I have one word for you, and it is spoken strongly:
    JAMAICA.
    I can seen you burnished mahogany by the Jamaican sea. We just gotta figure out what you’re going to live on.

    Like

Your turn ...

