Putting some flowers in my hair …

Because, you know, the song says I’ll need them … if I’m going to San Francisco and all.

So my email inbox has been the source of wicked good tidings lately.¹  ²  First the news that I won the villa raffle.  And then Tuesday I got the wonderful, soul-affirming news that Voices of Our Nations Arts Foundation has accepted me into one of this summer’s writing workshops!

(Let’s pause a moment while I do a dramatic re-enactment of opening my email on Tuesday.  I call this piece Shock, Disbelief, Amazement, Scream of Joy, Tears of Happiness, and the Crazy Little You’ve-Gotta-Be-Kidding-me Dance …)

I’m still a bit disbelieving that this wonderful good fortune is mine.  Please  believe me when I say that I really never win anything.  Anything.  Ever.  And now I have the villa win and a week of fiction writing with the gloriously talented Tananarive Due!

Now I just have to work out my budget so I can pay for it all and finish the story I’m working on so I can submit it for the workshop.  Not small tasks, but definitely do-able.  (So, Linda, Sarah, Audrey … this means I’ll be hanging out in your neck of the woods for a week.  Can’t wait to see you!)

__________

And of course:

(Did anyone — ever — know that Scott McKenzie was the singer of this song?  You know, other than Scott himself and his friends and family?  Certainly not me.  Just another reason to love YouTube!)

_____

¹   Ok, I pretty much never use “wicked” as a positive descriptor, but it seems to fit right now, given the degree of uncommonly good news that’s been flowing my way via the internet.

²   Uh, yeah … until yesterday when my work email sent me the news that the Mayor has zeroed out funding for all adult literacy programming for the new fiscal year … which begins on July 1st.  July 1st.

10 thoughts on “Putting some flowers in my hair …

  1. STACIE! This is HUGE!!!! Congrats! I am SO excited for you!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it…awesome and it TOTALLY is wicked good…and I’m not one to YELL often, but I DIG this news! squeal with delight…because I’m a child, obviously, heh :).

    1. Hi, Julie! Thanks so much. I’m swinging back and forth between being really excited and not believing it’s real. And I’m totally wowed by my soon-to-be-instructor’s book, The Good House. Really looking forward to working with her!

  2. molly

    I am so PLEASED for you. I can’t think of anybody who would get more out of this experience than you. Wonderful. I’m very happy. This seems so fair, finally, something that is fair.

  3. Stacie, that’s so exciting! I’m so happy for you; the workshop sounds like oodles of fun, I bet you’ll have such a great time!

Your turn ...

