Going to California to resurrect my soul …*

 That’s what I hoped this week in San Francisco would be for me: the resurrection of my writing soul … and that’s exactly what it’s turning out to be!  I’m so excited that I’ve been given this opportunity, that I’ve been allowed to come here and be a part of this group of writers, that I get to wear my “Writer” badge all week and no one will question it, no one will ask to see proof.  I feel lighter, happier, more powerful already!

Adding to my feeling of power as a writer is the fact that the essay I submitted for the second Empowering Women anthology was accepted!  The theme for the new anthology is “EmBODYment in Women’s Literacy.”  So I took a leap from the post I wrote about Tania a few months ago and wrote a piece called “My Body Politic: Paying Attention to the Woman Behind the Curtain.” 

That warm, cello hum you hear?  That’s me.

*  Thanks, P!ink.

10 thoughts on “Going to California to resurrect my soul …*

    1. Thanks, Linda! Of course, my week was made that much better by getting to meet you!

      As for the essay, the anthology will come out next March. I have to work on a revision (very small revision) due by the end of the summer. I’d be happy to send you a copy once I’ve got a final draft.

    1. I read the article, and it was great! As I said when we were at lunch, now that I’ve been to your gorgeous, hilly city, I’m that much more impressed by your bike-everywhere ability!

    1. Thanks, Molly. I’m glad that image made sense. It was the best way to describe what I’m feeling. This place, as the director likes to say, is magical.

    1. I’m having an amazing experience … one I hope will continue even after I leave. I would recommend this place to any writer of color. The quality of the work I’ve heard and the quality of the learning/affirming experience I’ve had is truly amazing.

Your turn ...

