2010 in review

So it’s a new year and WordPress has suddenly got this nifty year-in-review thing going.  I got it in my email this morning.  Considering how absent I’ve been this year, it’s a little comical that I get a “wow” on the blog health-o-meter.  If I get back to a more normal posting routine, will I explode the chart all together?

Things that please me from this review?  I’m really happy that none of the top five search items that brought people here in 2010 had anything to do with racism.  I’m still troubled by some of the searches that land folks at my door, but it’s nice to see that those unsavory searches were in the minority last year.

I also love that the photo they chose to post was the great Chac Mool souvenir I saw at Chichén Itzá two years ago.  I’d forgotten about that pic.

Best of all is the documentation of my busiest day ever … a day that had nothing to do with me at all.  It was a day that another blogger, the wonderful writer at Nerdy Apple Bottom, had a day of crazy-ass people thinking a funny post she wrote about her adorable three-year-old son was serious.   My little “Overheard” was at the bottom of that page in the list of “Possibly Related Posts,” which sent a bunch of her readers over to this quiet little space for a minute.  Silly.  (And if you doubt that it’s quiet over here, and the numbers below don’t convince you, go check out Ms. Apple Bottom today.  She’s got her 2010 stats posted.  That’s traffic!  And while you’re there, read “My Son Is Gay.”  Fabulous.)

So 2010 is behind me, and it’s time to figure out who and what I’m going to be in 2011.  Now that I’m out of the classroom, I’m a little unsure.  Am I just going to be a pet peeves and pissed off about politics blog?  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I’m not sure it’s where I want to be.  We’ll see.  In the mean time, here are the stats:

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

 

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers. This blog was viewed about 17,000 times in 2010. If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 4 fully loaded ships.

In 2010, there were 130 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 620 posts. There were 192 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 66mb. That’s about 4 pictures per week.

Featured image

The busiest day of the year was November 4th with 691 views. The most popular post that day was Overheard.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were nerdyapplebottom.com, facebook.com, Google Reader, twowritingteachers.wordpress.com, and stumbleupon.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for paper crane, aztec temple, aztec temples, paper cranes, and manhattan bridge.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Overheard March 2010
14 comments

2

Road Trip, Part II August 2008
6 comments

3

Peace in Folded Paper December 2009
8 comments

4

And Many Happy Returns October 2009
3 comments

5

Where You From? April 2008

10 thoughts on “2010 in review

  1. I got one too and also a wow and also thought it was really cool. I just joined their new apostaday and while I try and post every day on my own, I’m thinking that this could be even more fun.
    I am a Word Press Lover!
    Bonnie

    Like

    1. Happy New Year, Raivenne! I’m with you on the “wow = personal challenge for 2011.” Can’t wait to read what you write. I’m still thinking and thinking about your “Hard Black Woman” post.

      Like

Your turn ...

