I’m a Hollaback! girl, but …

I’m no fan of street harassment.  As the title says, I’m a Hollaback! girl, and a fan of Maggie Hadleigh-West’s amazing War Zone and of Holly Kearl. I’m happy every time a harasser is challenged, every time one is charged.

You can already hear the “but” coming, can’t you?  Yeah, it’s there.

I stepped off the bus this morning and headed for the subway.  As I approached the corner, I saw a young guy turn, see me, give me a serious once-over. When he gave me the second full-body stare and opened his mouth, I took a breath and set my face.  Whatever he was going to say, I was ready.

So here’s the but (or, to be crass — and give away the punchline — here’s my butt).  He started singing.  Started singing Queen.  Sang out loud and proud, “Fat-bottomed girl, you make the rocking world go round!”

I could have gotten mad at him, but really all I wanted to do was laugh.  First, I love that song.  Second, I often sing that song in reference to myself.  (I know I once wrote here claiming another number as my theme song, but who says you can only have one?)  Third, I just never expected him to sing, and certainly not that song.  Wasn’t he too young to even know that song?  And who sings Queen to strangers on the street at 8:15 in the morning, anyway?

I didn’t laugh.  I didn’t hug him, either.  I just kept walking.  But I won’t lie and say I didn’t have a little bit of a smile on my face for the next two blocks.

Note to the other harassers out there: this trick isn’t going to work every time, so you can put your songbooks away.

12 thoughts on “I’m a Hollaback! girl, but …

  1. I get what you’re saying.

    For me: harrassment – no. Outgoing, appreciative men looking just a little loudly – okay as long as they’re able to take stop for an answer and do it.

    In my past, I’ve had a few dark days warmed up by members of the latter group. I definitely understand that bit of a smile you had.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. Glad I made you laugh. What song. Good question. Of course, all I wanted to do in that moment was sing Queen. But I’d better think on this one. If I run into him again, I want to be prepared! 🙂

      Like

  2. Molly

    Who would do this? A Neapolitan, especially older men, but even some young ones. They break into song when a woman they think is good-looking walks by. Some of them can sing quite well, and there are plenty of admiring or lamenting songs for them to choose from.

    Like

Your turn ...

