Uneasy Listening

Hopped in a cab this morning to hear Prince on the radio giving me a little “1999,” making me feel right at home since he’s been in steady rotation on my iPod for about a week now.

That’s all good.  I’m smiling, I’m happy, I’m barely managing to keep myself from singing along (especially on my favorite bit: “If you didn’t come to party, don’t bother knockin’ on my door …”).  Then the song ends. The song ends and the DJ comes on and tells me that I’m listening to Lite FM.

Lite FM? Srsly?! Since when is Prince in the “easy listening” bin? On behalf of His Purpleness and his many fans, I have to take offense. I mean “1999,” for dance-ability alone, doesn’t belong on this station. What will they play next, “Erotic City” perhaps?

Lite FM. What’s next, Purple Rain as elevator music?

14 thoughts on “Uneasy Listening

    1. I heard the Rolling Stones as grocery store muzak several years ago and felt angry, sad, amused all at once. The song was “Mother’s Little Helper,” so I decided it was meant more to be darkly funny than anything else. Prince as easy listening feels more like a crime, somehow. Not sure why.

      Like

  1. I love “making me feel right at home since he’s been in steady rotation on my iPod for about a week now” because I have totally had that feeling. 🙂 It always feels like a sweet little bit of continuity between my head and the rest of the world. 🙂

    Like

  2. Paul

    This reminds me of going grocery shopping and loving the music they’re playing in the store because it’s all 80s. The music I love now lighting up the shopping cart action in the dog-and-cat-food aisle. Awesome — if by awesome, I mean “slightly soul-crippling”. 🙂

    Like

  3. I felt like I was riding in the cab with you. Maybe that is why I say up so late waiting for your posts. I want to read what you write. I look forward to your slice.

    Last week I was in Mcdonalds, and the background music was “KISS, Rock and Roll All Night.” So weird to hear it with the geriatric crowd, when I really moved to it at high school dances when it was released.

    Like

    1. I’m so flattered that you stay up to wait for my posts, Pamela! KISS as background music, eh? Yeah, eventually I’m going to just have to accept that I’m old, aren’t I?

      Like

  4. Stacie, I hate to tell you this, but I recently heard an instrumental of “When Doves Cry” in an elevator and I was equally horrified. Seriously, “When Doves Cry” has replaced “Girl From Inpanema”. Hangs head and mourns.

    Like

Your turn ...

