That’s just the fever talking …

(Originally, this post was called, “11:44 and still no post?”  I’m sure if you dig around in a Google cache somewhere you can still find it.)

Yikes!

Isn’t that really all there is to say?

It seems clear that my illness is really only my illness, not me spreading food poisoning around to my friends.  And that makes me happy … except that I’m still sick, and that part doesn’t make me happy at all. 

Left work and put myself to bed and woke up five minutes ago.  I was wondering what made me wake up.  Were the cats making noise?  Did the phone ring?  Was I cold?  No and again no and no … I actually think the SOLS challenge woke me up!  The realization that I hadn’t posted anything.  Crazy, but maybe true.  In any case, I’m awake and it’s not midnight yet, so here I am.

And instead of yammering on about nothing for another couple hundred words, I’m going to share my latest 420-character story and put myself back to bed.  Here’s hoping I’m less sick tomorrow.

_____

The train’s white-noise rumble eased Jess’ head back, coaxed her eyes closed.  She had at least four hours before she’d need to think.  Richard understood, had stopped trying to reach her, even as her husband’s calls achieved panic status. What did she owe him, she thought as she shut off the phone. Let him worry. He’d feel vindicated when whoever was first on her trail rang the bell. Her brain shut down in sleep.

This one comes from the same “they all turn dark” place that the earlier ones came from, but with a twist.  A 420-character opening moment of a mystery film?  That’s kind of what this one sounds like to me.

Check out the rest of today’s slices at Two Writing Teachers.

6 thoughts on “That’s just the fever talking …

  1. It does sound like the opening of a mystery. Mmm.

    I’m glad you’ve gone back to bed. Sleep can do wonders. I know because I get too little of it. I hope it helps to ease you back to health. Sweet dreams.

    Like

  2. Paul

    Can I use your 420s in my class as models for when I get kids to do this? They’re all so well-crafted, so great at providing concrete detail and evoking the possibilities of the details that aren’t there. You’re a great writer! 🙂

    Like

    1. You’re welcome to use my stories with your students, Paul. I’m flattered that you think they’ll help! And thanks for the compliment. It means a lot coming from another great writer!

      Like

    1. Hmm … I wonder who Richard is, too. When the line came out, I assumed he was her husband … and then the line about her husband came out. Who knows?! Thanks for your good health wishes, Pamela. I think I’m finally back to myself today.

      Like

Your turn ...

