30 Stories in 30 Days — Day 1

Yes, really.  Oh, it’s not my idea.  I stumbled onto the event page on Facebook and then found my way over to the Tumblr site.  Am I pretending to be able to do this?  Maybe.  Anything to get my pen moving, yes?

So here’s my first entry:

__________

“I wanted all of us to have something nice to remember from the trip,” Annabelle said.

Brian laughed.  “You mean other than the yelling and dad’s desperate beer runs down to the hiking lodge?”

Annabelle ignored him and kept working.  She’d spent more than an hour scrabbling through the icy creek searching out five perfect stones.  She’d polished them with oil and had set about carving hearts into each.

“You can’t make us a family with pretty rocks, little sister,” Brian said, turning from her and walking toward the cabin.

He was right, but she kept at her work.  Pretty rocks were what she had.  She couldn’t lift the ones large enough to knock any kind of sense into their hardened skulls.  River-smoothed pretty ones would have to do.

(source: Photos.com)

__________

On to the next!

8 thoughts on “30 Stories in 30 Days — Day 1

  1. She couldn’t lift the ones large enough to knock any kind of sense into their hardened skulls.
    I thought their skulls were like the rocks. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the stories.

    Like

    1. Hi, Pamela! See what happens when I try to write at the last minute to make the midnight deadline? Messy modifiers, photos without credits and all kinds of trouble. I hope to do better tomorrow!

      Like

Your turn ...

