Tomorrow …

… is my birthday.  It’s a big, significant birthday, one I have struggled to figure out how to celebrate.  I haven’t fully resolved that yet, but I have some plans.

To end the mystery, tomorrow I am 50.  (Ha! When I first typed that line, my hand slipped and I typed “I am 560” … it only feels that way some of the time, though.)  So add to my decade-long dilemma of how to have a birthday on 9/11 my taking-me-by-surprise-at-the-last-minute meltdown about being 50.

Why the trauma?  I guess 50 is like some kind of sign post on the highway.  You reach this point and there are just a whole host of things you have to be honest about needing to put away, and I wasn’t prepared for that realization to smack me in the head.

Putting away childish things, blah, blah, blah.  Never mind all that.  We’ve got new things.  One of which is my updated Hey page, complete with my new half-century self-portrait:

I know 40 is supposed to be the new 30, but I think 50 is really still just 50.  And that’s okay.  I’ve decided to follow the blogging trend of making a list of 50 things I want to do this year (big surprise that I would find something meme-like to do — memes should be one of those things I need to put away, but don’t hold your breath).  I’ll put some of the list up tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Tomorrow …

  1. Happy birthday to you! And many happy returns of the day. 🙂

    I was also born in September, a little over a week away. I’ll be fifty-six. I’m still hoping fifty is the new forty 🙂 even as my knees hurt and I fight to lose more of my chunkiness and refuse to dye my hair. I’m still in shock that I got older …

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday to You,
    Happy Birthday to You
    Happy Birthday dear friend,
    Happy Birthday to You.
    A lovely smile. New things this year. I agree 50 is still 50.
    Curious to see your list of what you want to do. And what you will do today that is special to celebrate your day. My favorite is to eat dessert before the main course.
    A hug for you.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Pamela! I had a good day Tuesday. Had a few sad moments during the day but then met up with some lovely writer friends after work and went to hear Junot Diaz read. Got lots of birthday hugs and kisses, and that is always a good thing. The thing I like is to be sure to have a piece of cake on my birthday. I don’t even need the candles to blow out, just to have a slice to make it “official.” And my coworkers took care of that with an amazing creation: a canoli cake with the most fabulous bouquet-of-flowers-in-frosting. Yummy and gorgeous all at once.

      Like

  3. elliottzetta

    happy birthday, beautiful woman! I can’t WAIT to hit 50 (forty arrives next month). You make it look good, girl. Hope your next half century is filled with love, joy and lots of writing…

    Like

Your turn ...

