Gifts from the Southern Wild

I’ve been chosen as a book-giver-outer for World Book Night!! I tried to get in on this action last year, but wasn’t selected.  I like the idea of World Book Night, like the idea of random people giving books to other random people, like the idea of sharing a love of books with other people in this very generous and gentle way.  I’ve registered to go pick up my books at a great little Brooklyn bookstore.  All I have to do now is decide how I’m going to give them away.  Some I will give to the youth services program at my job, maybe half.  The others … I don’t know.

My book for this evening of fabulousness is Jesmyn Ward’s wrenching, beautiful novel, Salvage the Bones:

salvage cover

Yes, my title is a reference to Beasts of the Southern Wild.  And yes, I know that these stories aren’t the same or even similar, really (although, in a few key ways …).  But I can’t help but think of them together … and can’t help but wish the writer of the film had been as adept with handling Hushpuppy’s story as Ward is at telling Esch’s story.  I was thrilled to find Bones on the list of choices.  I was amazed by this book.  Lovely, lovely writing.  I hope the people I give it to feel the same way.

I know my friend Mopsy will be giving out books.  Are any of you going to be book givers, too?

Please link up your slice of life story to this post today. As always, be sure to check out other bloggers’ writing by clicking through the links in the comment section of this post. If you’re dropping by to link up quickly today, then please come back later to read through others slicers’ posts.

You can find all the other slices on Two Writing Teachers!

And the 2013 Slice of Life Story Challenge starts next week!

4 thoughts on “Gifts from the Southern Wild

Your turn ...

