A Luv Thang (SOLSC 14)

Sticking with this musical theme I’ve fallen into, but switching gears …

_____

I’ve been having an audio love affair with black men these days.  Last fall I had a moment when I remembered how much I love Bill Withers.  I put him on Pandora and suddenly there they were: the Temptations, Marvin Gaye, Sam Cooke, Otis Redding, Al Green, the Miracles, the Spinners, Alvin Robinson (Alvin Robinson!!), Sam and Dave, Stevie Wonder, Albert King, Earth Wind and Fire, the Commodores …

Sigh.

Seriously.

Withers has my whole heart. His voice is amazing, his lyrics equally so.  There’s the top 40 fabulousness of “Lean on Me,” “Use Me,” and “Ain’t No Sunshine,” sure, but there’s also the unbelievable power of “I Can’t Write Left-Handed,” “Better Off Dead,” and “Grandma’s Hands.”  And of course, the joy of “I Wish You Well” and “Lovely Day.” Remember that excellent ad from the great Gap dance commercials (you know, just before the Gap’s nefarious plan for world domination was made plain)?

And remember his beautiful face?

74301230_10

See what I’m talking about? A full-on luv thang.

And in case you’re wondering, he’s just as lovely today:

BillWithers188

(I’m just saying, the jokers I’ve been dating of late need to step it up. Punto.)

This music, these beautiful brown voices … yeah, a full-on luv thang.

_____

You can tune into the rest of today’s slices at Two Writing Teachers.

sols_6

(Yes, I know today is Pi Day. I have no clever pie/pi jokes other than my usual offering of this “slice,” but I do hope you had a mathematically fabulous day!)

8 thoughts on “A Luv Thang (SOLSC 14)

  1. Stevie Wonder (almost everything he ever recorded), Sam Cooke (“Bring It on Home to Me”), Otis Redding (“Sittin’ on the Dock of the Bay”), Al Green, the Miracles, Earth Wind and Fire, the Ojays (“Love Train”!!)… could listen to them forever, and am right now…

    Like

    1. Interesting that the Ojays haven’t popped up on the Pandora playlist. They definitely fit. And I love “Sittin on the Dock of the Bay,” but when Otis sings “These Arms of Mine” … Oh my.

      Like

Your turn ...

