Monday, Monday. Can’t trust that day. (SOLSC 18)

Monday, Monday. Sometimes it just turns out that way.
Oh, Monday morning, you gave me no warning of what was to be …

(Thank you, John Phillips!)

I’ve been ignoring my trusty wake up with public radio routine lately, choosing to listen to music every morning instead of checking in with the headlines and weather before switching  over to my iPod. More fool me.

This music-morning behavior made me the only person who didn’t know we were getting snow today.  Not the most welcome of surprises.

_____

It’ll be April soon, so I’ve been thinking a lot about poetry.  I’m really at a loss for what I’ll do with Poetry Month.  With all the prep I’ve got to do for my mid-month surgery, I don’t think I’m up to taking on a poem-a-day challenge.  And that makes me a little sad.  I will still write something during April, but I need to think about it some more.  And think about whether I want to do a single-form challenge, spending the month writing only one type of poem.  And if I want to do that, what form am I choosing? (These are not the heavy decisions I posted about the other day, but they have been on my mind.)

How will you celebrate National Poetry Month?  Will you celebrate Poem in Your Pocket Day?

As I continue to wade through my options, I leave you with a tiny something laid out in magnets on my wall cabinet at work (I love magnetic poetry!):

Good rain like green summer light
like dreaming clouds above blue
night blooms
I feel dark, full, alive.

_____

You can see the rest of today’s slices at Two Writing Teachers.

sols_6

10 thoughts on “Monday, Monday. Can’t trust that day. (SOLSC 18)

  1. Great sound here — g’s and r’s, then l’s, then b’s, then heavy syllables (dark, full, alive). Very visceral and alive, muscular. Great little piece! 🙂

    Like

  2. Magnetic poetry used to be everywhere but not so much anymore. I am delighted to discover your poem this evening and it is a perfect summary for the thoughts you were discussing. I re-discovered a little box of magnetic poetry collecting dust recently. I think I will open it and hope something as lovely spills out.

    Like

    1. I bought several sets a few years ago. When I bought them, I also saw a stamp set for inking poetry on your skin. I didn’t buy it, and I’ve regretted that. I’ll have to see if I can find that set online!

      Like

  3. I remember when music welcomed me into the day. Now it’s all politics with Morning Joe! As far as poetry month, hmmm. I’m taken up the poem a day challenge but this year, nope, don’t think so…I’ll miss your poetry-inspired work.
    Bonnie

    Like

Your turn ...

