Four New Things I Know (SOLSC 26)

Here are four things I’ve learned since yesterday:

  1. Hydrocodone eliminates the pain of oral surgery.
  2. Hydrocodone eliminates the pain in my knee.
  3. Hydrocodone eliminates the nagging twinge I’ve had in my back for the last few weeks.
  4. Hydrocodone scares me. It’s okay to be a good responder.

I took my pain medication last night and, as soon as it kicked in, I went immediately to pain-free sleep.  And of course that’s the point.  Of course I wanted to be pain free.  Of course.

But I didn’t expect to be so pain free.  I’ve taken pain meds before, but I don’t remember ever responding so completely to anything I’ve ever taken.  I’ve certainly never taken anything that made the pain in my knee disappear.

I slept.  This morning, the drug had worn off, and the pain woke me up.  So I took another pill so I could do some work before getting ready for work.  Except I couldn’t really get much done because the drug kicked in and then I felt weird, like I hadn’t gotten my sea legs yet or something.

I did get a little work done, but I kept having to stop and breathe and adjust to the not-quite-normal-ness of how I felt.

I took one more pill today.  It wore off hours ago, but I’ve held off taking another.  I wanted to feel more like myself, so I didn’t take anything.  And that worked, but it was actually a stupid move.  I feel like myself, yes, but I feel like myself in a fair amount of pain.  So I’ll take one now, put myself to bed and see how I feel in the morning.

Why am I afraid of hydrocodone?  Aside from the fact that it made me feel unsteady as I went through my day?  It works too well.  It’s easy to see why people want to take it beyond their actual need for pain-killing.  And that’s not cool.  The unsteadiness bothered me, but maybe only because I had to be up and about today.  If I’d been home in bed, I probably wouldn’t have noticed it much and would have just felt pretty good all day.

Do I need to be afraid of hydrocodone?  Not really.  I’m not interested in developing a close, personal relationship with it.  I want my face not to throb, and it gets the job done.  This receptiveness is just something I hadn’t anticipated.  My dentist called it yesterday, however, so maybe I should have guessed.  When he gave me the Novocain before the surgery, I started to get numb really quickly.  He was happy to hear that.  “You’re a good responder,” he said.  “That’ll make this easier for you.”  Clearly I’m a good responder to the hydrocodone, too.  Which, I guess, can make this easier for me.

_____

Find all of today’s slices at Two Writing Teachers!

sols_6

10 thoughts on “Four New Things I Know (SOLSC 26)

  1. mrssurridge

    I took that stuff after some back surgery. It was great at first but then it gave me hallucinations. Too bad it works so well. If it left a little pain maybe it wouldn’t be such a dangerous drug. I hope you are feeling better soon.

    Like

  2. I think we hear so much bad news about the ease of falling into misuse, many of us are just very very cautious, and, perhaps, a little guilty about using prescriptions for pain meds, even when appropriate. I’m sure you’ll do fine and that the pain heals quickly.

    Like

  3. I know how you feel. I’ve always been cautious, perhaps overly so, about pain meds. I love my percocet, but I’m damn near to the point of tears most times before I resolve to take any for my migraine, which I know is not good. I’m so grateful fifteen or so minutes later after taking them, but the lingering floaty feeling I get on occasion does not sit well with me.

    Like

    1. Hi, Raivenne! I spent a lot of time going back and forth about using/not using my pain medication after my knee surgery. I thought my dilemma was big after the oral surgery! The meds for the knee replacement were much more intense but didn’t leave me with the same druggy feeling I got from the dental meds.

      Like

Your turn ...

