Aruns for April – 2

I’ve begun my research into the originality of the now very-comfortably-named Arun (the more I say it, the more I like it).  Very sketchy so far, of course, but I have to start somewhere.  This morning I found out about wave poems, which come kind of close, but then swerve in a different direction.¹  I like that form, however, and want to try it, too.

But not tonight.  Tonight, it’s another Arun on tap:

Clues
left, but
left hidden.
Your thoughts, secret map,
uncharted atlas.
Still,
I listen,
take my notes,
keep track of all.
Your hints drop softly,
are
softly
collected,
held to the light.
How else would I see?

Hmm … my jury’s still out on this one (although I like that “uncharted atlas” … which is either a good thing or a sign that it’s too precious and needs to go).  I need to give some thought to titles.  I know I don’t have to have them, but I seem to be missing them.

Almost forgot:  An Arun is a fifteen-line poem in three sets of five lines.  Each set of five lines follows the same syllable structure: starting with one syllable and increasing by one (1/2/3/4/5 — 3x).

_____

March has ended, but it’s Tuesday, so today’s a Slice of Life day!
Check out the weekly slicers at Two Writing Teachers!sols_6

__________
¹ Mr. Huber of Yahoo Voices hasn’t heard of the Nove Otto or the Zeno, it seems.  Both forms pair rhyme schemes with syllabic patterns.

8 thoughts on “Aruns for April – 2

  1. There is a mysterious, wistful vibe to this Arun. ( I am getting used to the name, too and it just rolls off my tongue like an English professor:). Everytime I read it I get a different picture of what is happening. I like that.

    Like

Your turn ...

