Everything I didn’t know I needed to know about TKR* (Arun 5)

Spent my day at the hospital doing lots of pre-op business — physical, lab work, patient education class.  Yes, I had to take a class about being a knee replacement patient.  When I first learned about having to take the class, I thought it was kind of funny, but now I get it.  I learned a LOT in that class today, and it answered so many of the questions that have been sprouting lately.  Most importantly, it eased one of the fears I was struggling with.  And hey, dig my swag bag:

HSS swag bag (768x1024)All manner of hospital-y goodness inside!

I wrote today’s Arun on the bus headed from Lexington to York, the sun bouncing off shiny bits everywhere.  There are pieces, lines that I like, but it’s still not really calling me.  I have work to do, need to better understand how to use the syllable counts more effectively.

Wind
cuts through,
awakens
sense of smell, taste.
Spring,
having
secreted
herself away,
is suddenly here,
flash
of color,
scent of earth
tang on the air,
green, liquid, clear.

An Arun: a fifteen-line poem in three sets of five lines.  Each set of five lines follows the same syllable structure: starting with one syllable and increasing by one (1/2/3/4/5 — 3x).

_____

* That would be “Total Knee Replacement.”  I like the sound of that “TKR.”  It make me want them to bring in a Teddy Pendergrass impersonator to serenade us.

8 thoughts on “Everything I didn’t know I needed to know about TKR* (Arun 5)

  1. Stacie, Wishing you well for your surgery. That is a wonderful hospital you are going to so I expect you’ll be starting a series of Arun 5’s about the journey of TKR rehab! If I lived closer, I’d dress up as Teddy P and serenade you myself!

    Like

  2. As a perennially jittery patient (no matter what, even if it’s just a checkup), I think that’s really cool they have a class before the surgery! Seems like a good space for learning and reassurance.

    Like

Your turn ...

