Aruns for April – 6

One
man, one
brother, one
hand I have held
forever. This man
stands
alone
too often,
hurt too often.
And I am too weak.
All
I have
cannot be
the thing he needs,
the balm for his pain.

(I edited this after publishing last night. The “cannot be” line was originally “is never.” That kept coming back to me a not quite right. “Cannot be” is closer to what I wanted.)

An Arun: a fifteen-line poem in three sets of five lines. Each set of five lines follows the same syllable structure: starting with one syllable and increasing by one (1/2/3/4/5 — 3x).

5 thoughts on “Aruns for April – 6

  1. Short but powerful. Love how brother and forever stand out–the rhyme (partial or slant or whatever it’s called) and the placement as line beginnings make those two words more striking.

    1. Thanks, Maya. I actually went back and changed a line that wasn’t sitting right with me, but not either of the lines you mentioned. I liked their sound/connection, too.

  2. *Never* is absolute. Thus why the constant admonishment of “never say never” is just in so many cases. On the other hand, *cannot* as resolved as it is, especially in this usage, is still a choice. Perhaps that is why one sits better with you than the other.

Your turn ...

