Yes, we have no Aruns today.

I’ve been home a full week now.  Feels both like five seconds and five months.  I’ve been doing a significant amount of sleeping, and mixing that up with physical therapy, and of course some quality time on the CPM machine.

I keep wanting to come here and say how fabulously well my recovery is going, as if all I can post is good news.  Where that idea came from, I have no idea.  So I’ve stayed away all week.  Truth is, my recovery is going well, but “fabulously” would definitely be an overstatement.  I started my “for real” physical therapy on Monday… and cried through the entire session!   It was hard to think about having to survive weeks of that.  I like my therapist very much, and I know the exercises she makes me do are important and helpful, but the pain that first day was overwhelming!  She was back on Tuesday for round 2, and it went much better than the first day.  No tears! And each day has been the same — pushing and pushing just a little beyond what I think is my limit, but no tears and some real progress.

The one thing that has made it possible for me to get through any of this is my sister’s presence.  Fox has been a wonderful caretaker — making sure I eat, making sure I drink enough water, creating a schedule for my medications.  Unfortunately, she can’t stay for the whole of my leave from work.

We’ve both been annoyed this week because we wanted to be writing and we weren’t. I’d pick up a pen and the next moment I’d be picking my head up off the notebook.  I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve drifted off while writing this post!  Today, Fox started working on a story.  I’m hoping the start of her writing will trigger a start for me.

As for my Aruns, that part of my brain seems to be shut down.  Maybe I’ll find a way to write one tomorrow.

_____

And no, I couldn’t resist the easy YouTube link:

8 thoughts on “Yes, we have no Aruns today.

  1. So glad to hear you are doing well, but I know how hard it can be. don’t force yourself to have more energy than you actually have, and if your focus isn’t on writing, that’s okay too. is the physical therapist actually coming to your house, or are they picking you up and taking you there like they said they would?

    Like

    1. I know we’ve seen each other since this post, Sonia, but yes, my PT was coming to my house for the first couple of weeks. That was a real gift! There’s no way I could have gotten out to appointments six days a week.

      Like

    1. Thanks so much, Bonnie–
      I’m healing remarkably well (in my opinion). I really thought I’d be laid up for much longer than I was. I’m back at work, only using the cane when I’m out on the street, and feeling really great.

      Like

    1. Kim, you’re so sweet to check back in with me! My recovery is going really well. Full healing will take a long time, but I’m so happy with how well I feel and how quickly I’m up and about!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Molly. As weird as it is to say, I’m glad for the suffering part because I’ve been needing this surgery for a LONG time. I’m healing very nicely, and feeling better all the time!

      Like

Your turn ...

