Rising (t)Ides Lift All Boats

… or something.  So tell me March 15th was really only bad news for Julius Caesar.

No, I’m serious.  I just hit “send” on my VONA application, and I can’t stop thinking, “The Ides of March?  Couldn’t it have been a different day?

But I finished!  I wasn’t sure I would.  I had an ending to create and virtually no ideas.  Then, as I was making tea, I saw the thing I wanted, the thing the might move me from my I’m-not-there-yet place to an actual end.  I hope the reviewers think so, too.

Now to wait for April 7th when I find out if I’m in.

That’s all I’ve got, friends.  My brain isn’t even on half power at this point.  I’ll try to be a whole person tomorrow.  For now, you can read real slices over at Two Writing Teachers.

SOL image 2014

(Here’s a Sunday morning add-on: I had a reason for using that title — sure, yesterday was the Ides of March, but also something specific about that saying. Clearly I was too tired to remember to write it last night … and this morning I have no idea what it was going to be! I woke up thinking, “Why did I say ‘tides’ in that title?” and came here to read the slice and find my answer. Only to come here and find an almost completely disconnected pun. Oh sleep deprivation, you’ve struck again!)

2 thoughts on “Rising (t)Ides Lift All Boats

Your turn ...

