Discover

Sometimes I think I’m doing Naima a disservice because I know that I am actually the one who needs a mentor.  Of course, who wouldn’t like to have a mentor?  And surely I would be a better mentor for Naima if I’d had the experience of having a strong mentor myself. Never too late to start? So maybe I need to be looking for that woman now. The Poetic Asides writing prompt for this day of the challenge is “discover.” And doesn’t that seem just right?

Discover

My
hands mask
anger, fear.
tell their own story.
Gesture up, left, right,
out.
I look
calm. But you
must ignore that.
See under my gloss.
See
what’s real
in here. See
what your eyes can’t,
won’t.  Unmask.  Reveal.

 

natpoetrymonth1

__________

An Arun is a 15-line poem with the syllable count 1/2/3/4/5 — 3x.  It may be a new thing in the world, made up by me last year.  “Arun” means “five” in Yoruba.

Your turn ...

