Through the Looking Glass

Another day of not-quite-spring.  I’m sorry to be so fussy, but we are well into April at this point.  Of course, over the weekend, a friend in northern Maine posted a picture of her backyard … buried under so much snow only the tops of her willow trees are showing! Okay, I’ll keep my mouth shut.  At least we’ve got no snow.

Today’s prompt on Poetic Asides is to write a self-portrait poem. I immediately thought of one of my favorite limericks:

For beauty I am not a star.
There are others more handsome by far.
But my face, I don’t mind it
for I am behind it.
It’s the people in front that I jar.

This limerick was, apparently, written by Woodrow Wilson!  I love that that could be true.  I would love it, in fact, if every president had written a limerick or two!

A self portrait.  Of course, I draw a stylized self portrait every time I make a comic, but that’s different.  So, tonight’s Arun:

Draw
my face.
Can you see
missing pieces?
Can you see me? Me?
My
selfies
give little,
almost nothing
true. I look angry,
face
empty,
unfocused.
Looking inward,
hints of love, want, faith.

My
own eyes
see flaws, see
scars, see my eyes
different sizes.
Face
isn’t
self-portrait.
I am greater
than my looks alone.
Why
is it
hard to find
the me inside,
the kernel of real?

That’s actually not where I thought I was going when I started writing, but I’ll take it.

natpoetrymonth1

__________

An Arun is a 15-line poem with the syllable count 1/2/3/4/5 — 3x.  It may be a new thing in the world, made up by me last year.  “Arun” means “five” in Yoruba.

6 thoughts on “Through the Looking Glass

  1. Again, I love this. (And I love that you included the word selfies in the poem! It’s so fun to see how quickly that new word has taken off.)

    Also, I especially love this:
    “I am greater
    than my looks alone.”

    Yes. I get so frustrated with the ridiculous amount of value that we are expected to have based on appearances. My love and admiration for my friends and family, for my idols and role models, are not determined by their looks.

    1. I actually laughed at myself using “selfies” … but that didn’t make me take it out! It was weird to write a self portrait. I’ve never tried that before. It might be interesting to spend my next poetry month just writing them!

Your turn ...

