Re-imagining

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is to write a “back to basics” poem — resetting, relearning, restarting …

Find
a new
meaning, a 
definition
of family. One
tree,
many
limbs. Searching
lost histories,
re-imagining.
See
us now.
Family.
Each has a name,
all living on, here.

Starting to wonder if I’m holding myself back, forcing each of these poems to be only a single stanza when they could be much longer.  Waiting until the lat minute to start writing and pushing myself to post before midnight is constricting.  Yes, of course that’s true, but these last poems have seems the worse for it, stunted out of necessity.  May have to revisit and revise …

And still thinking about yesterday’s realization that I haven’t been the poster child for self-deprecation this month with all my poems.  I think this change is, in large part, due to all the mental space that’s been taken up by the family history I’ve been uncovering.  I’ve been so focused on searching out connections, on finding pieces here and there, deciphering the handwriting on 150-year-old census documents … there just hasn’t been room to remember to put myself down!

As much as I’ve enjoyed this year’s poem-a-day challenge, I’m also happy enough that April’s coming to a close.  I want to release the daily pressure and setting into some of my more “normal” writing. (Who knows what I mean by that, but we’ll see come May.)

natpoetrymonth1

Please consider donating to my indiegogo campaign to support my participation in the VONA Voices graphic novel workshop this summer. Thank you!

__________

An Arun is a 15-line poem with the syllable count 1/2/3/4/5 — 3x.  It may be a new thing in the world, made up by me last year.  “Arun” means “five” in Yoruba.

One thought on “Re-imagining

  1. “There just hasn’t been room to remember to put myself down!” I love that! Sometimes I think a lot of my self-criticism is just from having too much time/space for it!

    Like

Your turn ...

