All good things …

And so National Poetry Month comes to a close.  Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is to write a “call it a day” poem.  This month of poems has seemed to fly by.  Crazy-quick.  It’s been an interesting month poem-wise, and I’m a little sorry to see it end.  A little.  I don’t think I could have sustained the daily posting for too much longer!

A month of aruns.  The form held up much better than I’d have thought it would.  What’s next?  Back to fiction, back to non-fiction.  Poems on pause for a while.  But tonight: one last arun for the month.

Rain
filling
every space,
reminding us
of childhood rhymes.
April
showers,
their promised
apple blossoms,
and lilacs. Fresh, clear
light
of Spring.
Water calls,
awakening
this season to bloom.

I know I already wrote a “welcome spring!” poem this month, but the weather didn’t cooperate. I’m trying optimism, hoping another welcome will do the trick.

Hope you enjoyed your Poetry Month!

natpoetrymonth1

Please consider donating to my indiegogo campaign to support my participation in the VONA Voices graphic novel workshop this summer.  “Support” can be as simple and cost-free as sending the Indiegogo link out to your friends and telling them why they might want to help me get to VONA.  Any and all help is appreciated.  To date, I’ve received just over half my goal amount! I am encouraged and humbled by everyone’s generosity.  Thank you all!

__________

An Arun is a 15-line poem with the syllable count 1/2/3/4/5 — 3x.  It may be a new thing in the world, made up by me last year.  “Arun” means “five” in Yoruba.

One thought on “All good things …

Your turn ...

