The Empire (well … Edward) Strikes Back

And here is the delicately-skillful coda to Friday’s meeting/my outraged post.

Speaker Man told Edward that he should write a “nice” email to raise his issue. And Edward has done him one better, writing a lovely email thick with chapter-and-verse detail backing up the comment he made Friday. It’s calm, measured, and entirely on point. I might have been able to go that far, but Edward does me one better, too. He is generous. He raises the dialogue far above the hiss-and-spit level to which Speaker Man lowered it. He gives Speaker Man and Facilitator Woman the benefits of many doubts. He is … well, he is exactly the man I’ve always known him to be.

I shared my “Speaker Man” post with Edward. He liked it, but his own writing is so much stronger. His level response to Speaker Man is scathing in its gentle insistence on civility and the laying out of facts. He is the kind of deft, razor-sharp advocate the table-beaters — of 50 years ago and today — love. The community residents and the field he champions are lucky, lucky, lucky.


It’s the annual Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by the wonderful people over at Two Writing Teachers! Every day this month, hundreds of writers will be posting their stories. Head on over and check out the other slices!

SOL image 2014

6 thoughts on “The Empire (well … Edward) Strikes Back

  1. This feels so satisfying. It takes such talent to be able to do what Edward did. I sincerely hope he has the effect he wants and needs and deserves.

    Like

  2. I love that this post drew me into yesterday’s. I’ve read them both and the way you keep everyone else nameless is a true honor to the hero of your slice. I will remember this technique. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. It is a great talent to be level, gentle and yet scathing. I admire that when it is well done. I have to say I am quite chuffed to read this and know Edward was able to get his gently point across while simultaneously sticking it to Speaker Man.

    Like

Your turn ...

