3.14159265359 … You know what that means!

It’s Pi Day! And a super special one. Everyone’s making a big deal about the fact that today’s date is Pi-to-5-digits, but I think that’s a little short-sighted. Today, at 9:26 and 53 seconds (am or pm), our date lines up with the first ten digits of pi! That is too fabulous.

And more fabulous? The number of videos there are of children reciting Pi (who knew that was a thing?).

Also fabulous? The Pi articles to make us think, not just make puns.

Equally fabulous? Danica McKellar and her big mathy brain:

For most of my teaching life, math was (oh yes, pun intended) part of the equation. In the beginning, I was reluctant about that part of my job. Math made me nervous. I had always been good at it, but I’d never understood it. I’d just learned to do all the things math teachers had taught me to do.* Then suddenly I was an adult ed teacher and couldn’t just hang out in the English and History sections of the curriculum. I’ve written a lot of posts about my math fears as a teacher, and about the stellar professional development series I attended that transformed the way I taught math.

In my new job, math is becoming increasingly necessary … and I’ve been finding myself once again struggling with math fear.

But today is Pi Day. And I’ve been talking about it and making jokes about it for so long — especially during this past week — and today I remembered: I like math. I like math. And I’m good at it. And I need to calm down and get out of my own way and just get the work done.


It’s the annual Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by the wonderful people over at Two Writing Teachers! Every day this month, hundreds of writers will be posting their stories. Head on over and check out the other slices!

SOL image 2014

__________
* Well, with the exception of geometry, which proved to be my great nemesis. Because of geometry, I outed myself as a class-A nerd, signing up for summer school even though I’d passed the class. I spent my summer re-studying geometry because I wanted a higher grade. Once this fact was discovered by my classmates, I was shunned.

8 thoughts on “3.14159265359 … You know what that means!

  1. Lots of Pi slices today(haha)! Leave it to you to help me understand what all the fuss is about! Really interesting resources. Happy to hear you are discovering you are marvelous mathematician!

  2. I was almost glad my post for Saturday was so late, so I could avoid having a Pi slice (HA!). Sorry, my forte is to the letter, never the digits. I am so math challenged I only want to deal with Pi when it’s the design on a fruit, meat or pizza variety.

Your turn ...

