24 Hours

My Saturday is going to be a little different this week. I’m finally participating in the 24 Hour Project! I’ll be out and about from midnight to midnight, taking pictures all over the city. This year, there will also be a #BlackLivesMatter Edition, and I’ll be tagging my photos for that as well.

I’m turning my 24 hours into an extended friend date, meeting up with about half a dozen folks throughout the day to share my wandering.

You can follow my progress @girlgriot on instagram! When I first started posting on instagram, I had a whole photos-and-mini-stories thing going on. I’m thinking I’d like to try getting back to that on Saturday. Mostly, I’m looking forward to getting to wander through some neighborhoods I don’t see in my day-to-day and spend my whole day playing the artiste!

I took this photo a month ago in Downtown Brooklyn, and I’m hoping I’ll find some happily-perfect shots to rival it over the course of my day:

Negotiations

So excited to get started!

But … (because isn’t there always one?)

I’m having a hard time figuring out how to do the late-night hours. It’s generally true in most places in the world, and my city is no different, that a woman alone on the street in the middle of the night needs to have some extra care for her safety. I don’t normally hang out alone on the street after 12 or 1am, and I’ve been trying to plan for locations where I know there will be lots of people … or at least some people. Still working on that.

And …

I’m trying to figure out how I need to look, what image I have to project so that big, tall, black me on the street at night isn’t seen as a danger, a threat. I’ve been so preoccupied with worry about my safety, I hadn’t thought about this bit of fabulousness until a few hours ago. But this is all wrapped up in thinking about my safety, isn’t it? It has to be. It’s kind of ridiculous that I need to worry both about being safe and making strangers feel safe around me.

Right now, it’s time for me to grab a few hours of sleep before taking on my city, my fears, and my excitement about participating in this excellent project. I hope I’ll see you on Instagram!


It’s the annual Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by the wonderful people over at Two Writing Teachers! Every day this month, hundreds of writers will be posting their stories. Head on over and check out the other slices!

SOL image 2014

 

13 thoughts on “24 Hours

  1. I love this 24 hour project. When you wrote you were trying to figure out how to do the late night hours, I was thinking from my perspective, a rural area where almost no one is out. I have to look to find anyone on duty. Then I continued to read and realized you have a very different, two-sided problem. Be safe with your camera in hand.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Pat. I hadn’t thought about how difficult this project would be for people in rural areas where it’s surely hard to find anyone to take pictures of. The themes for this project have always involved people, so lovely landscapes wouldn’t fit the bill. I wonder if there are any rural participants and what they’ve done.

      Like

  2. cmargocs

    Sending wishes for a safe, creative, and productive project! Smart you for considering all the angles (pun intended). Perhaps some friends will go along for the late night hours?

    Like

    1. I didn’t have any friends with me for the late hours, and I would hope to change that next time. Comically, for all the angles I considered, there were so many I never thought of until I was on the street!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anyone wandering the streets all night is going to be perceived as having some agenda that isn’t so great…don’t care your color, size, gender…you could be mistaken for a hooker by the police or by someone interested in your services. Taking pictures? Another concern. It’s an interesting idea, but fraught with potential problems. Best of luck. Hope you get some good photos and no unwanted attention!

    Like

    1. There’s truth in what you say, Donna, but my specific experience adds to the need for concern. I have had too many instances of my color and size creating the perception of my dangerousness — even in broad daylight — so the prospect of that late-night walk was daunting.

      Like

  4. What an extraordinary undertaking! I hope that you get a friend to support you during the night. I can’t wait to see / hear your results. Love, love, love the “marry me” photo. You have a real eye! Good luck!!

    Like

Your turn ...

