La-dee-da-de-dee, La-dee-da-dee-da

Still on my VONA retreat high. Had dinner tonight with a member of the retreat crew and we scrolled through the almost 400 pictures I took Friday night. Yes, 371 pics, all taken in the weekend’s first couple of hours. That night was “orientation,” and there was a lot of singing, dancing, and silliness going on. Including from me in those moments when I put the camera down:

me 1

Look, when you start playing the Jackson 5, I can’t be responsible for what happens next.

_____

Someone in the group said our going away together was like that MTV tragi-comedy monster, the Real World. I think that’s fairly accurate. You never know what will happen when folks start living together, even if just for a minute. And we weren’t all sunshine and rainbows the whole weekend. There were prickly moments … but we’re family, and prickly moments are par for the course. Many years ago, I did a writing weekend in the Catskills with a handful of friends from the writing group I was in at that time. And it was the same — a little prickly now and then and full-on fabulous the rest of the time.

I’ve already seen some writing come out of the weekend, and I’ve just dipped back into one of my favorite mentor texts to keep myself moivng forward. An excellent result that will help push me into April and my poem-a-day challenge. Who else is in?!


It’s the final day of the 8th annual Slice of Life Story Challenge, hosted by the wonderful people over at Two Writing Teachers! Every day this month, hundreds of writers posted their stories. But the slicing fun doesn’t stop simply because March is ending! You can still read slices every Tuesday as part of the weeklly challenge!

SOL image 2014

9 thoughts on “La-dee-da-de-dee, La-dee-da-dee-da

  1. Oh man, it just hit me – Sesame Street!

    “It goes la-dee-da-de-dee,
    la-dee-da-dee-da,
    something, something nice,

    la-dee-da-de-dee,
    la-dee-da-dee-da,
    what’s the name of that song?”

    Like

    1. Oh, I don’t know this song. I was carrying on from Sonny and Cher: drums keep pounding rhythm to the brain … la-dee-da-de-dee, la-dee-da-dee-da …

      Maybe if I knew what song you were thinking of, it would drive this one out of my head! 🙂

      Like

Your turn ...

