Balancing Act

It’s April first, lovely people. The start of National Poetry Month! And, while not taken by surprise, I find myself caught two-left-footed this year. My modus operandi for years has been to choose a form and explore it for a month … accompanied by nonstop bellyaching about not just how much I’m not a poet and how hard it all is.

Fear not, there will surely be plenty of bellyaching. And right now it’ll be about not knowing what form I’m going to work with. A month ago, I thought I’d do persona poems, but I’m not feeling that right now. (Or, to be most exact, I’m not feeling up to that right now.) So for today I’m trying a prose poem, something I’ve never attempted before. Will this be my form for 2015? We’ll all have to wait and see.

Fulcrum

There is no music without pain. As with love, with happiness, with inspiration. All balanced against despair, against emptiness, the soul-crushing harmony-of-the-spheres. We need the sludge to appreciate the gold, fluff to give substance its depth. A Justin Bieber, a Miley Cyrus for every Adele. A Vanilla Ice for every Bob Marley. Not a wheel, not the cycle of life. There is no one-to-one correlation. The ache that squeezes my heart balances some acute joy somewhere, but does not guarantee reciprocation. I read your wedding announcement, felt that wrecking ball swing through my chest. My devastation, your pleasure. The earth turns. All levers balanced.

 


NPM15_ForSite_FINAL_FINAL

Are you writing poems this month? Where can I see them? Let’s share this craziness!

As I did last year, I’ll be following along with the Poem-A-Day challenge at Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides Blog. Today’s prompt is to write a resistance poem. Not sure if mine fits the challenge, but I’m sticking with it. You can post your daily poems on Brewer’s page. The top poem from each day will be included in an anthology later this year!

5 thoughts on “Balancing Act

  1. Oh the feel of this poem is a contrast of itself. Deep, moody and yet it made me smile in complete understanding. It is a delicate balance and well suited for the form.

    I was in such a funky mood last week. Now that I’m back to my norms I don’t know if I want to “resist” it. Then again you now me and when it comes to poetic forms it’s futile. We’ll see.

    Like

Your turn ...

